60th Anniversary of Sonny Rollins' Iconic Album, 'Way Out West'


Submitted by -RECKONING PR Tue, 12/19/2017 - 7:57 pm

On February 16, Craft Recordings will release a deluxe edition of one of the most iconic and enduring records in jazz. Celebrating its 60th Anniversary in 2017, Way Out West, alongside Saxophone Colossus, cemented Sonny Rollins' place as one of the top tenor saxophonists of all-time. This meticulously compiled package pays appropriate tribute to the importance of the landmark recording with an audiophile-quality pressing of the original album and a second LP of bonus material featuring rare and previously unreleased tracks from the legendary session. Both records are pressed at Quality Record Pressings (QRP) on 180-gram vinyl. Grammy® Award-winning writer Neil Tesser contributes liner notes, which include excerpts from a recent interview he conducted with Rollins especially for this release. Rare photos by famed jazz photographer William Claxton round out the collection, which comes housed in a handsome hinged box.  More info below on album and Rollins.

Way Out West (Deluxe Edition) will also be available at streaming outlets, mastered for iTunes, and in Hi-Res digital (96/24 and 192/24) on street date. Preorder Way Out West (Deluxe Edition) on Amazon.

Track Listing:

Disc One - Original Way Out West Album

Side A

A1. I'm an Old Cowhand

A2. Solitude

A3. Come, Gone

Side B

B1. Wagon Wheels

B2. There Is No Greater Love

B3. Way Out West

Disc Two - Bonus Tracks from the Way Out West Recording Session

Side A

A1. Monologue: You Gotta Dig the Lyrics (previously unreleased)

A2. I'm An Old Cowhand (alternate version)

A3. Dialogue: Titling "Come, Gone" (previously unreleased)

A4. Come Gone (alternate version)

Side B

B1. There Is No Greater Love (alternate version, previously unreleased)

B2. Way Out West (take 1, previously unreleased)

B3. Way Out West (alternate version)