Daniel Hutchens to release The Beautiful Vicious Cycle Of Life


Submitted by -Michelle Roche… Wed, 01/27/2016 - 2:32 pm

Daniel Hutchens, one of the most respected songwriters in Athens, Georgia, will release his third solo effort, The Beautiful Vicious Cycle Of Life, on April 22, 2016, on Pretty Mean Records.

Hutchens has been writing, recording and touring since 1994; he is best known for his work with his rock band Bloodkin.  With a catalogue of over 500 songs, he has co-written with Widespread Panic, Jerry Joseph, David Barbe (Sugar, Drive-By Truckers) and more. He has recorded with Barbe, Johnny Sandlin, John Keane (REM, B-52s) and David Hood of Muscle Shoals fame. He has toured and recorded with Moe Tucker and Sterling Morrison of the Velvet Underground and appeared onstage with Lou Reed, Mike Mills, Gov’t Mule, Allen Ginsberg, Drive-By Truckers and Widespread Panic, who have recorded and regularly perform several of Hutchens’ compositions.

Justin Gage of AQUARIUM DRUNKARD has written of Hutchens, "I put his catalog right up there with the likes of Townes Van Zandt, Alejandro Escovedo and Steve Earle in terms of truly capturing the nuances of humanity, both the light and the dark, in song...[Hutchens] is a national treasure." 

The 11 original songs on The Beautiful Vicious Cycle Of Life capture Hutchens’ ability to create emotive vignettes, replete with catchy lyrics and thoughtful imagery that invites the listener to join the journey of the characters he creates.  From the toe-tapping “Pretty Girls In Summer Dresses” to the Petty-esque “Epitaph Town,” the recording feels like a classic slice of Americana.

The recording was produced by Widespread Panic's bassist Dave Schools and engineered by David Barbe at Chase Park Transduction Studios in Athens.  It features a plethora of guest musicians including: Schools, Barbe, Duane Trucks (Widespread Panic), Jesse Aycock (Todd Snider), Todd Nance (Widespread Panic), William Tonks (Bloodkin, Jack Logan), Eric Carter (Bloodkin), and singer Thayer Sarrano.  It was mastered by Joe Lambert (Warren Haynes, Kanye West, The Black Crowes) at JLM Sound in Brooklyn, New York.  This project was made possible by Havin’ A Ball Productions in Houston, Texas.

David Barbe, whose production work with Drive-By Truckers, Betty LaVette and Patton Oswalt, among others, has received Grammy Award ® nominations says of the new recording, "I have made 9 or 10 albums with Danny Hutchens. This is one of my favorites."

Track listing:

1.      Jack Nicholson Grin

2.      American Country Ghosts

3.      The Beautiful Vicious Cycle of Life

4.      Pretty Girls in Summer Dresses

5.      Wings And A Walking Cane

6.      Touch Up Time

7.      Tearing Up The Tiles

8.      One Bird Shy

9.      Spend It All

10.     Epitaph Town

11.     All Golden Traces

For more information:  http://www.bloodkin.net