Euforquestra Announces New Album - Fire Out March 25

Fort Collins/Denver-based band Eufórquestra (pronounced: yoo • FOHR • keh • struh) returns with their fourth full-length studio album, Fire, set for worldwide release on March 25, 2014.  Fire was produced by Kyle Hollingsworth (The String Cheese Incident) and mastered by Dominick Maita, whose credits include Billy Joel and Herbie Hancock.  The album spans 14 funk-infused tracks featuring guest spots by roots vocalist Elliot Martin (John Brown’s Body), soul singer Kim Dawson, trumpeter Gabriel Mervine (The Motet), and keyboardist Kyle Hollingsworth rounding out the stellar cast.  Eufórquestra’s foundation may be smothered in funk, but their style also blends healthy doses of Afrobeat, Reggae, and Dub.

Eufórquestra spent the time between their last album Soup heavily touring over 100 days per year and coming up with new songs.  They finally laid down the new tracks at Scanhope Sound studios in late 2013.  As opposed to their previous releases, this is the band’s first album using a producer.  Mike Tallman, guitarist and vocalist of the group says, “We’ve always been self-produced, so it was great to have a dedicated producer on board to help guide us.  Working with Kyle was an honor. He really jumped in and made this his project as well.  Kyle helped with pretty much every aspect shaping the songs for this record. He edited lyrics and song forms; he helped with bass lines, guitar parts, saxophone melodies, etc.  He really did a little bit of everything. He coached us through vocal performances and cutting solos. He also encouraged us to experiment, improvise and try new things.”

This new focus and experimentation in the studio has led to impressive tracks like “Fire,” a gritty, hard-driving funk anthem with a big gang vocal-hook and huge horn sound.  It’s a heavy, nasty groove that rightfully earned its place as the title track for the record.  “The Price Is Right” is a high-energy funky dance floor tune inspired by sweaty club nights, which sets the tone for the record.  “Road Funk” is an ode to being on the road and the funk involved with being a touring musician.  “Take Me Dancing” is an upbeat dance tune featuring Kim Dawson on vocals. It’s a soul tune with massive energy, telling the story of a couple that need a night out dancing in order to shake off the troubles and stress of day-to-day life. The added bonus is that it also features a killer synth solo by Kyle Hollingsworth.  These are just four of the tracks featured out of the diverse collection of 14 tunes on Fire.

Before the band relocated to Colorado, they were rooted in Iowa City, IA.  They still have strong ties there and have created an amazing festival, aptly titled Camp Euforia, which the band hosts every July in eastern Iowa (Lone Tree, IA).  Camp Euforia will be celebrating its 11-Year Anniversary in 2014.  What started out as a casual “fan appreciation party” has become a well-respected music event that has hosted Ivan Neville’s Dumpstaphunk, Greensky Bluegrass, The Pimps of Joytime, EOTO, Juno What?!, Hot Buttered Rum, Cornmeal and many other local, regional and national artists.

Tallman enthusiastically concludes, “We want to spread this album as far as we possibly can and then go to all those places so we can perform for the people there. This record feels like a milestone moment for the band and we want take advantage of the positivity and momentum behind it.”  With a Spring tour starting in April and their strongest release to date, it seems like only a matter of time until the world experiences Eufórquestra’s Fire.

  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Pre-orders are currently active through Elderly Instruments...
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 16:42
Well known around Texas for his contributions with the award...
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 16:21
The String Cheese Incident recently released their seventh-s...
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 16:08
Described as “Female fronted symphonic metal hailing from Oh...
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 13:30
3 weeks 3 days ago
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
2 years 10 months ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
2 years 11 months ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
3 years 1 month ago