Great American Taxi announces Boulder charity event

Great American Taxi will host a night of music at the historic Boulder Theater here to raise money for the Mark Vann Foundation charity.  In its eighth year running, the holiday benefit concert this year includes Great American Taxi, Todd Snider, Bill McKay Band, Bonfire Dub, Shannon McNally & Hot Sauce and others.

“It’s our own little way of keeping alive and nurturing the joyous spirit of Mark Vann,” said Chad Staehly, executive director of the foundation and keyboardist/singer for Great American Taxi. Vann, the banjo player for the Boulder-based band Leftover Salmon, died in 2002; the foundation in his name assists various nonprofit groups.

This year funds will directly benefit There With Care and CareConnect.  Previous beneficiaries include Rock-the-Earth, The Rex Foundation, Tipitinas Foundation Artist Relief Fund, ConservationValue, Community Food Share (Boulder & Broomfield Counties' Food Bank), The Music Maker Relief Foundation, The Van Go Mobile Arts Project and JAMS, and the Steam Powered Preservation Society.

The evening also includes an art exhibit and silent auction. The show starts at 8 p.m. Tickets cost $20. People are encouraged to wear a fun or favorite hat.

Great American Taxi, revered as one of the most energetic country-, rock- and bluegrass-influenced Americana bands in the land, is currently in the midst of its Fall Harvest tour, playing with some of the most innovative and acclaimed players currently on the jamband/newgrass and Americana scenes.

Taxi’s latest CD release, Reckless Habits, remains active on both the Jambands.com radio chart and the Colorado radio chart, complemented by two months in the Top 25 on the Americana radio chart.


GREAT AMERICAN TAXI ON THE ROAD, 2010

Wed., Oct. 27  FORT COLLINS, CO w/Oakhurst
Fri., Oct. 29  ENGLEWOOD, CO Gothic Theatre w/Todd Snider and Drew Emmitt Band
Sat., Oct. 30   DENVER, CO Fillmore Auditorium w/Leftover Salmon and Todd Snider
Sun., Oct. 31   AVON, CO Agave
Tue., Nov. 2   BILLINGS, MT Yellowstone Valley Brewing Co.
Wed., Nov. 3   LIVINGSTON, MT The Mint
Thurs., Nov. 4   MISSOULA, MT Top Hat
Fri., Nov. 5   PORTLAND, OR Mt. Tabor Theater
Sat., Nov. 6   BEND, OR Silver Moon Brewing Co.
Sun., Nov. 7  EUGENE, OR w/Emmit-Nershi Band
Tue., Nov. 9   APPLEGATE, OR Applegate Lodge
Wed., Nov. 10   ARCATA, CA Humbrews
Thurs., Nov. 11   BERKELEY, CA Ashkenaz w/David Nelson Band
Fri., Nov. 12   SEBASTOPOL, CA Hopmonk Tavern w/David Nelson Band
Sat., Nov. 13   SANTA CRUZ, CA Moe’s Alley w/the Down Beets
Sun., Nov. 14   UKIAH, CA Nelson Family Vineyards w/David Nelson Band

  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Bues-inspired singer-songwriter, badass and aspiring rock st...
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 11:50
Whitewater Ramble (WWR) has announced a special show on Thur...
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 11:35
Ever since the Harvest Music Festival lineup has been releas...
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 11:15
Lotus is set to celebrate the end of 2014 with four shows in...
Monday, September 22, 2014 - 13:08
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
3 months 3 days ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
4 months 2 weeks ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
6 months 1 week ago
The Revivalists are incredible live! Make sure you check out their new album! http://...
6 months 3 weeks ago