The Inimitable Baby Dee Tours in Support of Upcoming Release

After the overwhelming response to Safe Inside the Day in February 2008, the unique Baby Dee returns with A Book of Songs for Anne Marie, out in North America on 4/20 via Drag City. What was telling about the response to Safe Inside the Day was the purity of reaction. The back story, (let’s face it, Baby Dee is the epitome of the phrase) never overshadowed the fact that she gives everything and that is what connects with critics and audience alike. Harkening to the song cycles and lieder of Schubert and Schumann, the tracks of A Book of Songs for Anne Marie are part of a greater whole, a series of poems set to music. Joined by a talented group of musicians, including Matthew Robinson (cello), Sarah Alden (violin), John Nowel (violin) and John Contreras (cello), Dee will cross the continent, performing these minimally orchestrated, tender songs on piano as only she can: with humor, warmth, and gravity.

Check out the song “Lilacs” off of A Book of Songs for Anne Marie here.

Baby Dee Tour Dates:

Thursday, April 8 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe

Friday, April 9 - Baltimore, MD @ Floristree

Saturday, April 10 - New York, NY @ Santos Party House

Monday, April 12 - Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa

Tuesday, April 13 - Toronto, ON @ The Music Gallery

Wednesday, April 14 - Cleveland, OH @ Opening Nights Festival

Thursday, April 15 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom

Friday, April 16 - Chicago, IL @ The Hideout

Saturday, April 17 - Cedar Rapids, OH @ CSPS

Sunday, April 18 - Dubuque, IA @ Monks Kaffee Pub

Monday, April 19 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center

Tuesday, April 20 - Winnipeg, ON @ West End Cultural Centre

Friday, April 23 - Calgary, AB @ The Big Secret Theatre

Saturday, April 24 - Calgary, AB @ The Big Secret Theatre

Tuesday, April 27 - Vancouver, AB @ Gallery Gachet

Wednesday, April 28 - Seattle, WA @ The Triple Door

Thursday, April 29 - Portland, OR @ The Woods

Friday, April 30 - San Francisco, CA @ Amnesia

Saturday, May 1 - Santa Monica, CA @ McCabes

Sunday, May 2 - Phoenix, AX @ Trunk Space

Monday, May 3 - Albuquerque, NM @ Outpost Performance Space

Wednesday, May 5 - Columbia, MO @ Mojos

Thursday, May 6 - Lexington, KY @ Niles Gallery (UK Campus)

Friday, May 7 - Detroit, MI @ Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit

Topics: 
  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Since releasing Random Album Title in 2008, electronic music...
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 16:41
What is shaping up to be the most exciting Wanee Music Festi...
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 15:55
React Presents continues the tradition of bringing some of t...
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 15:51
Incendiary American roots duo Billy Strings & Don Julin...
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 15:41
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
3 months 1 week ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
4 months 3 weeks ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
6 months 2 weeks ago
The Revivalists are incredible live! Make sure you check out their new album! http://...
6 months 4 weeks ago