Patrick Watson's Adventures In Your Own Backyard Streets May 1st

Patrick Watson will be releasing his new album on Domino and Secret City in April of this year. Adventures In Your Own Backyard will be released the week of April 16th in his native Canada, continental Europe and Japan, to be followed the week of April 30th in the rest of the world.

Adventures... was made at home after a grueling five-year run that saw Patrick and his band (bassist Mishka Stein, guitarist Simon Angell and drummer Robbie Kuster) tour the world in support of two critically-acclaimed and successful albums, including the Polaris award-winning Close To Paradise. During this time, Patrick also contributed to Ma Fleur, the 2007 album from The Cinematic Orchestra, co-writing and singing on a sizeable portion of the record.

In Patrick’s own words, Adventures... is an effort on the band’s part to “make the kind of music we would want to listen to at home.” The album’s title is a nod to this sentiment and to the fact that it was recorded almost entirely in Watson’s apartment in Montreal, unlike his previous efforts which were sprawling recordings in both geography and arrangements.

In spite of the relatively spartan settings in which to record, Adventures... is equally as ambitious as Watson’s previous efforts and a thing of dynamic beauty. The result is an album that is still ripe with the touchstones one has come to expect from Patrick Watson and his collaborators, but permeated with a greater sense of patience and confidence. Adventures in Your Own Backyard is an attempt by Watson and the band to simplify their sights—to make music a bit more close to home in every sense of the phrase.

Adventures... will be preceded by the single and video for the sweeping, elegant “Into Giants,” which is available for preview to all at and via the widget below. Patrick and his band have already lined up shows before the album’s release that will include a headlining appearance at South By Southwest in Austin, Texas in March, a variety of dates across Europe this April, and support dates with Andrew Bird in the US this May:


Patrick Watson Tour Dates:

Wed. 03/14/12 – Sat. 03/17/12 -- Austin, TX @ SXSW
Thu. 05/03/12 -- Philadelphia PA @ Union Transfer w/ Andrew Bird
Fri. 05/04/12 -- New York NY @ Beacon Theatre w/ Andrew Bird
Sun. 05/06/12 -- Boston MA @ House of Blues w/ Andrew Bird
Tue. 05/08/12 -- Washington DC @ The 930 Club w/ Andrew Bird
Wed. 05/09/12 -- Baltimore MD @ RamsHead Live w/ Andrew Bird
Tracklisting is as follows:
01. Lighthouse
02. Blackwind
03. Step Out For A While
04. The Quiet Crowd
05. Into Giants
06. Morning Sheets
07. Words In The Fire
08. The Things You Do
09. Strange Crooked Road
10. Noisy Sunday
11. Adventures In Your Own Backyard
12. Swimming Pools
  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Trey Anastasio Band closed out Grace Potter’s Grand Point No...
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 18:54
The International “Queen of Bluegrass” returns from a week o...
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 18:42
Today, SnowGlobe Music Festival released its highly anticipa...
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 17:04
This week we are highlighting the accomplishments of young m...
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 13:24
5 months 3 weeks ago
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
3 years 3 months ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
3 years 4 months ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
3 years 6 months ago