RJD2 To Release New Album, More Is Than Isn't, October 8th

Spanning 15 years, the recording career of RJD2 (aka RJ Krohn) is starting to exhibit the type of resilience generally reserved for golfers and bebop musicians. The relevance of this should not go unnoticed; it is increasingly rare for artists in the sphere of hip-hop and electronic music to maintain a presence this far into a career. This feat becomes even more impressive considering it was all done via independent labels. 2013 will see the release of More Is Than Isn't, his 5th proper full-length LP (7th, if you count "The Horror" EP and 2011's Inversions of the Colossus), on his own RJ's Electrical Connections imprint. But before we delve into that, perhaps a quick recap of years 1-14 is in order.

RJD2's first credit as a producer appeared in 1998 on the MHz 12", "Rocket Science," via Fondle 'Em Records. Initially playing the role of a DJ/producer in a rap group, this would lay the groundwork leading to a solo record deal on Definitive Jux, the label that released RJD2's 2002 debut, Deadringer. Both a critical and commercial success, the album's single "Ghostwriter" appeared in numerous ads, television shows and movies. 2006-2007 saw both the move to XL Recordings for The Third Hand, as well as the release of Magnificent City with Aceyalone, which birthed one of the most recognizable songs in RJD2's catalog, "A Beautiful Mine." It doubles as the theme song to AMC's "Mad Men." But in 2009, the landscape of record labels had changed drastically since the previous decade. RJ forged ahead with a newly minted record label, a box set and plans for his fourth LP, The Colossus.

More Is Than Isn't, his new album and the second RJD2 record on his own label, sees RJ incorporating new production techniques and approaches while still keeping an eye on the basic aesthetic that has always driven him: soulful, melodic, beat-oriented music. A largely instrumental affair, the record does feature several vocalists: Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, Foreign Exchange), Aaron Livingston (Icebird, The Roots), rappers Blueprint, P. Blackk and STS, and Khari Mateen. Conceptually, the album is tied together by three instrumental pieces that are different explorations of the same harmonic theme. It captures a dynamic range not seen before on an RJD2 album, ranging from subdued jazz-tinged pieces to bombastic club music, and a lot of funk in between. 

Since last releasing an album, electronic music has continued to captivate the public's interest and has showed no signs of ebbing. The continuation of this movement gave RJ reassurance in the endeavor of making instrumental music. "In ways, all of my previous albums were in some fashion striving to achieve something more than being 'just instrumental music'; this is the first RJD2 album I've made that actually revels in a relative lack of vocals," he states. The ethereal, beat-driven vibes of his debut album also make appearances now and again, with textural usage of gritty drum breaks, lush analog synths and his ever-distinctive use of the MPC sampler. This record truly is a culmination of years of experience as both a producer and composer, bringing to fruition a record that stands on its own within the landscape of electronic and hip-hop music today.

More Is Than Isn't is out October 8th, 2013 on RJ's Electrical Connections.

More Is Than Isn't tracklisting:

01. Suite 1

02. Temperamental (feat. Phonte Coleman)

03. Behold, Numbers!

04. Her Majesty's Socialist Request

05. A Lot of Night Ahead of You

06. Bathwater (feat. P. Blackk)

07. Milk Tooth

08. Suite 2

09. Winter Isn't Coming

10. See You Leave (feat. STS and Kari Mateen)

11. Got There, Sugar?

12. Love and Go (feat. Aaron Livingston)

13. Descended From Myth

14. Dirty Hands

15. It All Came To Me In A Dream (feat. Blueprint)

16. Suite 3

RJD2 tour dates:

Thu. July 11 - Philadelphia, PA @ Morgan's Pier

Tue. July 16 - Cleveland, OH @ Jacobs Pavilion at Nautica

Sun. July 28 - Dufer, OR @ WTF?! What The Festival w/ Purity Ring

Thu. Aug. 1 - Philadelphia, PA @ Morgan's Pier

  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Tired of looking over your shoulder before telling a funny s...
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 16:28
React, Rebirth Garments, and the Arts of Life Present Rotati...
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 16:17
Fresh off of their critically acclaimed debut release, Keys...
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 16:10
Stony Plain Records announces a November 17 release date for...
Monday, September 25, 2017 - 15:09
5 months 4 weeks ago
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
3 years 3 months ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
3 years 4 months ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
3 years 6 months ago