Sharon Van Etten Announces New Album, Tramp, Out Feb. 7

Sharon Van Etten is delighted to share news of Tramp, her stunning Jagjaguwar debut album, out February 7, and the follow up to last year’s epic (Ba Da Bing). Tramp showcases an artist in full control of her powers. With her third album, Van Etten’s words and voice are now two parts of a larger evocative whole.

The shimmering sound of Tramp both defies and illuminates the unsteadiness of a life in flux. Throughout the 14 months of scattered recording sessions, Van Etten was without a home -- crashing with friends and storing her possessions between varied locations. The only constant in Van Etten's life during this time was spent in the garage studio of The National's Aaron Dessner.

A two-year journey brought her to that point of instability. Upon the release of the intricate, understated epic, Van Etten surprised the music world with a touching embrace. Coming off the release of her spartan first effort, Because I Was In Love (Language of Stone; 2009), Van Etten created a short album of diverse songs connected by a shared goal of an expanded sound and her unmistakable voice. Since epic’s release, she has opened the Pitchfork Music Festival, played The Hollywood Bowl with Neko Case and at Radio City Music Hall with The Antlers, sung on new records for Beirut and Ed Askew, and collaborated with Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and Megafaun on the Songs Of The South project.

Van Etten’s Tramp contains as much striking rock as pious, minimal beauty; it can be as emotionally combative as it can sultry. Contributions from Matt Barrick (Walkmen), Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), Zach Condon (Beirut), Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak), Julianna Barwick, and Dessner himself add a glowing sheen to the already substantial offering.

Van Etten will play shows with Shearwater and The War On Drugs all over North America in support of this release. A list of tour dates is below.

--

TRAMP TRACKLISTING:

01. Warsaw

02. Give Out

03. Serpents

04. Kevin’s

05. Leonard

06. In Line

07. All I Can

08. We Are Fine

09. Magic Chords

10. Ask

11. I’m Wrong

12. Joke or a Lie
---

SHARON VAN ETTEN TOUR DATES

Tue. Dec. 13 -- New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre w/ The National

Fri. Feb. 10 -- Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's w/ Shearwater

Sat. Feb. 11 -- Washington, DC @ Black Cat w/ Shearwater

Sun. Feb. 12 -- Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle w/ Shearwater

Tue. Feb. 14 -- Columbus, OH @ Wexner Center w/ Shearwater

Wed. Feb. 15 -- Newport, KY @ Southgate House w/ Shearwater

Thu. Feb. 16 -- Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ Shearwater

Fri. Feb. 17 -- Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ Shearwater

Sat. Feb. 18 -- Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center w/ Shearwater

Tue. Feb. 21 -- Toronto, ON @ Lee's Palace w/ Shearwater

Wed. Feb. 22 -- Montreal, QC @ Il Motore w/ Shearwater

Thu. Feb. 23 -- Boston, MA @ Paradise w/ Shearwater

Fri. Feb. 24 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Shearwater

Sat. Feb. 25 -- New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Shearwater

Tue. March 20 -- Los Angeles, CA @ The Avalon w/ The War On Drugs

Wed. March 21 -- San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ The War On Drugs

Fri. March 23 -- Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater w/ The War On Drugs

Sat. March 24 -- Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret w/ The War On Drugs

Sun. March 25 -- Seattle, WA @ The Neptune

Tue. March 27 -- Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room w/ The War On Drugs

Mon. March 28 -- Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater w/ The War On Drugs

Sat, March 31 -- St. Louis, MO @ Luminary Center for the Arts w/ The War On Drugs

Sun. April 1 -- Bloomington, IN @ Rhino's w/ The War On Drugs

  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
After a long wait amidst the cancelled shows last summer and...
Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 12:52
From their debut performances at the Village Gate, a histori...
Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 11:30
When it’s January in Florida, that means it’s time for the a...
Friday, September 19, 2014 - 08:55
Southern Soul Assembly—an artist-in-the-round performance se...
Thursday, September 18, 2014 - 15:10
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
3 months 1 day ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
4 months 1 week ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
6 months 1 week ago
The Revivalists are incredible live! Make sure you check out their new album! http://...
6 months 2 weeks ago