Thomas Dolby's U.S. Time Capsule Tour announced

In the wake of his critically acclaimed album A Map of the Floating City, and the groundbreaking FloatingCity.com transmedia game he co-designed, Thomas Dolby will embark on a 26-date North American tour this March, with a rather unusual vehicle in tow (pictured).
 
The Time Capsule is a chrome- and brass-plated road trailer that seats three. With handcrafted leather and wood fittings, and complex electrical wiring that could have been designed by Nikola Tesla, it resembles a Jules Verne/HG Wells-inspired time-travel machine. Inside is a high-tech video recording suite that allows a music fan or guest artist to upload a personal video message to the Future. The Time Capsule will be parked in the street outside each venue on Dolby’s month-long North American tour, and in front of select local radio and TV stations. It will capture hundreds of 30-second clips over the course of the tour, assembling them into an online video montage.
 
Fans will be able to walk up and step into the Time Capsule to make their own fully produced and effected digital 30-second video clip. The clips will then be automatically uploaded and viewable on a brand-new YouTube channel along with the individual user’s own Facebook and Twitter pages. The most viewed clips will win prizes. Dolby’s label Lost Toy People Records is in discussion with several potential sponsors for the project.
 
“If you had 30 seconds to explain to an alien visitor what went wrong with our civilization, what would you say?” said Thomas Dolby. “Our species may not be around on this planet much longer, so you might as well leave a welcome message for the next guys!”
 
The Time Capsule Tour kicks off at SXSW in Austin, TX April 12-17, and will take in 24 U.S. cities and two in Canada. A full list is at http://www.thomsdolby.com/tour, while news, merchandise and additional perks are available at the Flat Earth Society fan club. Anyone joining before January 31, 2012 will earn a free download of an exclusive three-remix Thomas Dolby EP entitled “Return to Oceanea.”

--

Tour Dates:

Fri., March 16  AUSTIN, TX SXSW
Sat., March 17  NEW ORLEANS, LA  Tipitinas
Sun., March 18  ORLANDO, FL  Social
Mon., March 19  BIRMINGHAM, AL  Workplay (Seated)
Tues., March 20  ATLANTA, GA The Loft
Wed., March 21  GREENVILLE, SC  Handlebar
Fri., March 23  ANNAPOLIS, MD Ram’s Head
Sat., March 24  PHILADELPHIA, PA  World Café
Sun., March 25  ALEXANDRIA, VA  Birchmer
e

Wed., March 28 SELLERSVILLE, PA  Sellersville Theater
Thurs., March 29  NEW YORK, NY  Canal Room
Fri., March 30  NORTHAMPTON, MA  Iron Horse
Sat., March 31  RIDGEFIELD, CT  Ridgefield Playhouse
Sun., April 1  MONTREAL, QC L’Astral
Mon., April 2  TORONTO, ON Mod Club
Wed., April 4  DETROIT, MI  Royal Oak
Thurs., April 5 CHICAGO, IL  Park West
Fri., April 6  MINNEAPOLIS, MN Cedar Cultural Center
Tues., April 10  VANCOUVER, BC Rio Theatre
Wed., April 11  SEATTLE, WA  Showbox at the Market
Fri., April 13  SAN FRANCISCO, CA  Red Devil Lounge
Sat., April 14  SACRAMENTO, CA Ace of Spades / Harlows
Mon., April 16  SAN DIEGO, CA Belly Up Tavern / Anthology
Tues., April 17  LOS ANGELES, CA  Largo

Topics: 
Free tags: 
  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
Electro-funk act Pigeons Playing Ping Pong have announced th...
Saturday, December 20, 2014 - 16:39
Stuck somewhere between obscure, psychedelic Frank Zappa B-s...
Saturday, December 20, 2014 - 16:22
Grace Potter & The Nocturnals, long known for their rock...
Saturday, December 20, 2014 - 15:36
Bluegrass singer/songwriter Peter Rowan makes his way around...
Saturday, December 20, 2014 - 06:24
6/10/2004
1 month 2 weeks ago
...
I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 months 2 weeks ago
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
6 months 3 days ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
7 months 1 week ago