Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Thoughts on American Music & Jerry Garcia

Submitted by chris on Mon, 07/04/2005 - 9:10 pm

In light of the upcoming Fourth of July I would like to invite all readers to comment with your ideas of what constitutes American Music.  We could get a very nice discussion going regarding bands, styles, influences, allusions, imagery, intent, and anything else that might come up about what American Music is, was, means and does.

TW Classic 2005

Submitted by kelly on Wed, 06/29/2005 - 3:52 pm

This year, my "summer festival season" started with TW Classic, which can be seen as the precursor of Rock Werchter, which takes place in the same area one week later. On the agenda this year: Gabriel Rios, Brian Wilson, Novastar, Arno, Duran Duran, and Lenny Kravitz. As you can see, a mixture of Belgian and foreign bands.

Topics

Don't Panic - 06/24/05 | Red Rocks

Submitted by Tony Casson on Sat, 06/25/2005 - 6:07 pm

Today thousands of Widespread Panic fans awoke still scratching their heads over last night's second set at Red Rocks Amphitheatre. Of course your hard-core Panic fan will analyze each set they play with both the precision of a Talmudic scholar, perfected in the mold of the Grateful Dead scholars that came before them, and the intense focus of a NASCAR mechanic, the perfect blend of rock and roll creation and down-home country-fuck.

Where Did My Mind Go: The Pixies & Violent Femmes | Red Rocks

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on Thu, 06/16/2005 - 2:24 pm

As I awoke that Sunday, there was not much desire to trek up to Red Rocks to see a group that I was only vaguely familiar with.  I had had one of those horrible, no good, very bad weeks and did not think the Pixies were capable of solving any of my issues.  However, knowing that I had only heard pleasant statements about the Pixies, as well as the fact that my brother had extended his v

Topics

DSO Provides Fun & Nostalgia in NY

Submitted by chris on Fri, 06/10/2005 - 4:04 pm

I made a deal with my wife that if I could get the kids to bed, so that everything at the ol' homestead was settled and peaceful, then I could go to the show.  So I went, though I was delayed enough by my two daughters that I arrived at the tail end of Dark Star Orchestra's first set.  DSO is not just your average

Grateful Web Book Review | 'Ironman op zoek naar een nieuwe uitdaging'

Submitted by kelly on Mon, 05/23/2005 - 8:18 pm

Marc Herremans, also known as Mad Max, is born on December 19 in 1973 in Merksem, Belgium-Flanders. He is a well-known triathlon athlete, who unfortunately became disabled after a dramatic fall during one of his training sessions in Lanzarote 2002. More information about Marc can be found on following website: http://www.marcherremans.be.  Don't forget to put on the sound when visiting this site.

Phishy, Phishy: How do you get your Phix?

Submitted by Tony Casson on Mon, 05/23/2005 - 6:54 pm

A couple of weeks ago Mike asked me to go to the Phix show at the Fox and write a review; I'm not going to write a review of a cover band, I told him. You'll wind up with ridiculous lines like "Paul was really channeling Trey on that cover of Moma Dance" or "their version of Punch You in the Eye almost made me feel like it really was Phish." Over the last several days he kept bugging me in his inimitable Yahoo!

5.8.77 - Cornell University - 28 Years Later...

Submitted by chris on Sun, 05/08/2005 - 5:05 pm

On the anniversary of one of the all-timers, this show is held so dear by so many deadheads that it is one of the true links for newbie to old-timer (as someone notes below).  It has almost invariably been one of the first tapes of a show that we first had our minds blown by and one of the first tapes that we literally wore out...most of us know the Betty Board with the Minglewood fade in and the chunk missing (Ouch!) from Lazy Lightning>Supplication which otherwise is of great quality.  My highest recommendation is to listen regularly to the

Archived news