John McLaughlin Releases Black Light Tomorrow, 9/18

"adimage1"
"adimage2"
Submitted by MAD Ink PR on Thu, 09/17/2015 - 5:46 pm

Tomorrow, September 18, 2015 via Abstract Logix, the  worldwide release of Black Light finds the relentlessly inquisitive, exploratory Guitarist John McLaughlin continuing to uncover new melodic and rhythmic pathways with the fearless zeal that has made him one of modern music’s most admired and influential figures.  

Black Light includes 8 original McLaughlin compositions, but the emotional core of Black Light, and one of McLaughlin’s finest acoustic performances on record, rests in “El Hombre Que Sabia” – a deeply moving tribute to McLaughlin’s late collaborator, Paco de Lucía, who passed away in early 2014. “You cannot imagine how much I miss him,” reflects McLaughlin. “‘El Hombre’ is one of the pieces Paco and I had planned to record on a new studio album last year.”  The two had intended to compose an album’s worth of new material just before De Lucia’s untimely passing.

Recently Elmore Magazine profiled McLaughlin and premiered the lead track, “Here Come the Jiis.” The story & music Here.  The composition is described by McLaughlin as “one of a number of pieces on the album that’s in a way a kind of an homage to departed friends, to departed colleagues whom I love and miss.”

Premier Guitar states “Throughout Black Light, McLaughlin creates harmonically complex compositions by seamlessly weaving elements of live performance with pre-recorded sounds.”

The Album features the multinational maestros “4th Dimension” – the group features drummer/vocalist Ranjit Barot, keyboardist/drummer Gary Husband, and bassist Étienne M’Bappé – McLaughlin has gathered a trio of fellow travelers with the technical ability, musicianship, and imagination to support, enhance, and enrich McLaughlin’s challengingly expansive new material.

“I am always excited to play with these musicians,” McLaughlin says enthusiastically – no small compliment given he has performed alongside an array of revolutionary talents in his lifetime. “Not only are they marvelous players, but they are great human beings, and as such we have developed, over the years, a deep complicity that comes through in the music.”

Following the international release of Black Light, McLaughlin and the 4th Dimension will set out on a world tour, continuing to explore and elaborate upon the album’s genre-defying material.  More dates to be announced shortly.

John McLaughlin - Australia/Asia Tour Dates

Tuesday, October 06, 2015 Perth, Perth Music Hall

Thursday, October 08, 2015 Sydney, Recital Hall

Saturday, October 10, 2015 Brisbane, The Tivoli

Tuesday, October 13,2015 The Forum, Melbourne, Australia

Wednesday, October 14, 2015 Melbourne, Melbourne Festival

Sunday, October 18, 2015 Bali, Arma Ubud

Friday, October 23, 2015 Tokyo, Blue Note

Saturday, October 24, 2015 Tokyo, Blue Note

Sunday, October 25, 2015 Tokyo, Blue Note

Tuesday, October 27 Taipei,The Wall Livehouse

Thursday, October 29 Singapore,NUS Cultural Centre for the Arts Hall

Friday, October 30  Hong Kong, Kowloon Bay International Trade and Exhibition Center

Sunday, November 01, 2015 Bangkok, M-Theatre Hall

Tuesday November 3, 2015 Kolkata, India Dalhousie Institute 

Thursday, November 05, 2015 Dhaka , Dhaka Jazz Festival

Friday, November 06, 2015 Mumbai, NCPA

Saturday, November 07,2015 Bangalore, India  Counterculture

Promoted on slideshow
Off