Swift Creek's "Bluegrass Hurricane" recalls World of Bluegrass 2015


Submitted by -Penguin Publicity Thu, 09/22/2016 - 11:50 am

Central North Carolina’s Swift Creek has released a music video for “Bluegrass Hurricane” from the album Magnolia, a collection of original Bluegrass and Americana music. The album consists of truly original tunes penned primarily by band member, Kevin Brown. The album was produced and recorded at the Rubber Room in Chapel Hill, NC by acclaimed producer and musician, Jerry Brown.

"Bluegrass Hurricane" is an uptempo walk through the history of bluegrass, touching on founding fathers Bill Monroe and Earl Scruggs, and seminal events in bluegrass history (The Bristol Sessions, the 1970's "Will The Circle Be Unbroken" project, "Oh Brother, Where Art Thou"). Brown was inspired by the real hurricane that threatened last year's IBMA World of Bluegrass Conference and Music Festival. An instrumental highlight is stunning triple fiddles by Swift Creek's Stephen Fraleigh. The 2016 IBMA World of Bluegrass fest is set for Sept. 27-Oct. 1 in Raleigh, NC.

“Last year, World of Bluegrass began with the threat of Hurricane Joaquin off the coast, and lots of consternation about whether it would make landfall and wash out the entire WOB weekend,” Kevin Brown says. “That potential outcome inspired a plethora of #bluegrasshurricane tweets.  Fortunately, Joaquin stayed well offshore, but an unrelated weather pattern brought torrential rains to the Carolinas which forced all of the scheduled events into the Raleigh Convention Center.  Despite the obstacles, World of Bluegrass 2015 was a rousing success, and I came away with the inspiration for a song.”

Magnolia includes some very impressive covers, and even a parody. The album wraps with “Ashes of Love” and a delightful old-time radio feel.

Swift Creek is Kevin Brown (guitar, vocals), Casey Elder (mandolin, dobro, vocals), Stephen Fraleigh (fiddle, banjo, vocals), Dennis Hoyle (bass), and Ann Searcy (vocals). Brown is the prolific songwriter behind much of Swift Creek’s music.

1.    Wake Me Up To Drive (K.Brown) 3:49
2.    Rattle Them Bones (K.Brown) 4:29
3.    Bluegrass Hurricane (K.Brown) 3:07
4.    Broken Bird (K.Brown) 4:28
5.    Life In The Slow Lane (Parody, K.Brown) 4:03
6.    Afterglow (K.Brown) 4:40
7.    Sail Away Ladies 2:05
8.    The Levee (K.Brown) 5:22
9.    Harlem River Blues (J. Earle) 2:59
10.  Irene (A. Platt of The Honeycutters) 4:32
11.  The Way (T. Scalzo) 4:04
12.  Ashes of Love (J. Wright, J. Anglin) 3:01