Brothers Comatose Release New Song

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Submitted by -JP Cutler Media Mon, 08/28/2017 - 6:53 pm

Whether traveling to gigs on horseback or by tour bus, Americana mavens The Brothers Comatose forge their own path with raucous West Coast renderings of traditional bluegrass, country and rock 'n' roll music. In advance of their showcase at AMERICANAFEST 2017 (Sept. 13 @ The High Watt, 10pm) and the forthcoming "Campfire Caravan" national tour with Mipso and The Lil Smokies, The Brothers Comatose release the debut song in a new series, "Don't Make Me Get Up And Go," produced by indie-rock legend John Vanderslice. Following three critically acclaimed full-length studio albums (Songs From The Stoop, Respect The Van, City Painted Gold), the five-piece string band disrupts the traditional album cycle and focuses their 2017/2018 release schedule on a series of strategically released songs.

The Brothers Comatose are anything but a traditional acoustic outfit with their fierce musicianship and rowdy live shows reminiscent of stadium rock concerts. The band kicks off the autumn season in high gear with the release of the first track, "Don't Make Me Get Up And Go," in their new song series - a composition from The Brothers Comatose's latest stint in the studio with John Vanderslice. Channeling harmony vanguards The Beach Boys, "Don't Make Me Get Up And Go" is a nod to the delicate dance between two friends and trusting fate to either bring them romantically together or not. With lyrics written by the band's tour manager Joe Pacini, lead singer Ben Morrison lends his crooning baritone to the fast-paced, feel good song.

"Going into the studio with Vanderslice was all about capturing the moment on analog tape," says Ben. "We set out to record in a way we've never previously attempted. We did it live with all of us playing in the same room as if we were performing on stage. Vanderslice really understood the sonic landscape we were going for. He's really a super producer, being a musician who has cut a lot of records of his own and produced albums by many great artists."

The Brothers Comatose entered Vanderslice's Tiny Telephone (San Francisco) studio with drafts of "Don't Make Me Get Up And Go." After working out the verses and chorus in the studio, bassist Gio Benedetti came up with the three-part harmony bridge. Vanderslice had the trio of Ben, his brother Alex Morrison, and Gio, head into the studio's echo chamber with its five-second delay, and the boys did what they do best. They sang their hearts out, and the result is sublime.

The Brothers Comatose is comprised of brothers Ben Morrison (guitar, vocals) and Alex Morrison (banjo, vocals), Gio Benedetti (bass, vocals), Philip Brezina (violin), and Ryan Avellone (mandolin). When they're not headlining The Fillmore for a sold-out show or appearing at Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival, the band is out on the road performing across America, Canada, Australia, and hosting their very own music festival, Comatopia (Bandit Town USA, Aug. 11-13, 2017). In 2018, The Brothers Comatose will travel to Asia for a month of cultural music exchange and education with American Music Abroad, a program directed by the State Department.

This fall, "Campfire Caravan" featuring The Brothers Comatose, Mipso, and The Lil Smokies hosts three of today's foremost emerging indie Americana bands as they trek across the United States. With each band quickly rising the ranks, "Campfire Caravan" honors the musicians' early days playing music, when they'd perform for friends and family in basements, living rooms, and around campfires. "Campfire Caravan" celebrates the American tradition of gathering communities around music.

For a comprehensive list of "Campfire Caravan" tour dates, please see below and more information is available at campfirecaravan.com and brotherscomatose.com.

"CAMPFIRE CARAVAN" FALL 2017 TOUR DATES
Wednesday, September 13 -- Nashville, TN -- The High Watt
Tuesday, September 26 -- Billings, MT -- Pub Station
Wednesday, September 27 -- Bozeman, MT -- Emerson Center for Arts & Culture
Thursday, September 28 -- Missoula, MT -- Wilma Theater
Friday, September 29 -- Portland, OR -- McMenamin's Crystal Ballroom
Saturday, September 30 -- Seattle, WA -- Neumos
Sunday, October 1 -- Eugene, OR -- Hi-Fi Music Hall
Tuesday, October 3 -- Sacramento, CA -- Harlow's
Wednesday, October 4 -- Paso Robles, CA -- Barrelhouse Brewing Co
Thursday, October 5 -- Los Angeles, CA -- Bootleg Theater
Friday, October 6 -- Great American Music Hall -- San Francisco, CA
Saturday, October 7 -- Great American Music Hall -- San Francisco, CA
Tuesday, October 10 -- Boise, ID -- Neurolux
Wednesday, October 11 -- Salt Lake City, UT -- The Urban Lounge
Thursday, October 12 -- Denver, CO -- Ogden Theatre
Friday, October 13 -- Colorado Springs, CO -- Ivywild School
Saturday, October 14 -- Ft. Collins, CO -- Aggie Theater
Thursday, November 2 -- Minneapolis, MN -- Cedar Cultural Center
Friday, November 3 -- Madison, WI -- High Noon Saloon
Saturday, November 4 -- Chicago, IL -- Lincoln Hall
Sunday, November 5 -- Detroit, MI -- Otus Supply
Tuesday, November 7 -- Pittsburgh, PA -- James Street Ballroom
Thursday, November 9 -- Boston, MA -- The Sinclair
Friday, November 10 -- New York, NY -- Bowery Ballroom
Saturday, November 11 -- Ardmore, PA -- Ardmore Music Hall
Sunday, November 12 -- Washington, DC -- 9:30 Club
Tuesday, November 14 -- Charlotte, NC -- Neighborhood Theatre
Wednesday, November 15 -- Nashville, TN -- The Mercury Lounge
Thursday, November 16 -- Atlanta, GA -- Terminal West
Friday, November 17 -- Raleigh, NC -- Lincoln Theatre
Saturday, November 18 -- Asheville, NC -- The Orange Peel