Hot Rize Rides Again w/ New Album & Tour

"adimage1"
"adimage2"
Submitted by Groove On Music on Thu, 09/18/2014 - 2:38 pm

Hot Rize has not toured more than a few select festival dates and concerts since 1990.  That all changes in September as they embark on their first major tour in almost 25 years in support of their new studio album, reclaiming their unique position where tradition and innovation collide.

The tour will start in Colorado in late September, include stops at IBMA’s Wide Open Bluegrass Festival, Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival in San Francisco, and hit the Midwest and east coast along the way with key stops in New York, Philadelphia, and D.C.

“We’ve had fun over the years playing some of our favorite festivals as we’ve all continued our solo careers, but the last few years we’ve started feeling the tug to make new Hot Rize music.  With the new album, we decided it was time to hit the road and try to reach some new heights, said Pete Wernick (aka Dr. Banjo). He added, “Even with the time away and all of our other ventures, we’re still like family, and adding Bryan Sutton on guitar brought a new energy to the band.  We are very excited to share the new songs with fans.” 

For more than three and a half decades, Hot Rize has been astounding the bluegrass world with a fresh, contemporary approach to traditional music.  Their unique style; powerful original songs; tight-as-a-drum ensemble playing, and dynamic stage show made them an inevitable choice for the International Bluegrass Music Association's very first Entertainer of the Year award in 1990.  Since then, the all-star band has kept their legend alive by performing at just a handful of top festivals (e.g., MerleFest, Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, Telluride, Bonnaroo, Rockygrass) and select venues.

Here’s the current itinerary for the fall with a few more dates to be added:

Wed, Sept 24 – Durango, CO – Ft. Lewis College

Thurs, Sept 25 – Aspen, CO – Wheeler Opera House

Fri, Sept 26 – Boulder, CO – Chautauqua

Sat, Sept 27 – Denver, CO – Cervantes

Sun, Sep 28 – Columbia, MO – Roots & Blues & BBQ Fest

Fri, Oct 3 – Raleigh – IBMA Wide Open Bluegrass Festival

Sun, Oct 5 – San Francisco, CA – Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival

Fri, Oct 17 – Nashville, TN – War Memorial Auditorium (w Del McCoury Band)

Sat, Oct 18 – Wingate, NC – Batte Fine Arts Center (w Del McCoury Band)

Sun, Oct 19 – Duluth, GA – Red Clay Theatre (2 shows)

Wed, Nov 12 – New York, NY – City Winery 

Thurs, Nov 13 – Philadelphia, PA – Keswick Theatre (w Del McCoury & David Grisman)

Fri, Nov 14  - Washington, DC – The Hamilton

Sat, Nov 15 – Baltimore, MD – Gordon Center

Mon, Nov 17 – The Ark – Ann Arbor, MI

Thurs, Nov 20 – Stoughton, WI – Stoughton Opera House

Fri, Nov 21 – Akron, OH – Kent Stage

Sat, Nov 22 – Middletown, OH – Finkelman Auditorium

Sun, Nov 23 – Chicago, IL – City Winery 

 

Check out www.hotrize.com for details

Topics
Promoted on slideshow
Off