8/26

Gabe Dixon Band tour and new CD Streets 8/26

Photo by Henry Diltz- for the Grateful Web

To kick off the release of their eponymous Fantasy Records debut, the Gabe Dixon Band will tour clubs nationwide in September and October, including shows at New York's Bowery Ballroom, Philadelphia's Theatre of Living Arts, Los Angeles' Roxy Theatre, and San Francisco's Great American Music Hall. The band will share the stage with Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers September 10 –14, and with VH1 "You Oughta Know" buzz artist Justin Nozuka September 18–October 21.
 
The band will make their network television debut Labor Day week on "The Late Late Show With Craig Ferguson." Even before the release of the album, the band is being lauded by a choir of fellow musicians: chart-topper Sara Bareilles says "Gabe's voice is flawless, and it delivers some of the most well-crafted, heart-felt, kick ass songs I've heard in a long time. He and the band are truly gifted, and we're lucky they decided to share those gifts with the world." Adds international sensation Jamie Cullum, "Seeing and hearing Gabe Dixon inspires me and upsets me. It inspires me because he plays superbly written songs, beautifully with a superb band. It upsets me because I fret that I may never be this good!" And Grammy Award-winning songwriter Dan Wilson comments, "I can't decide whether Gabe Dixon's secret weapon is his brilliance on the piano or his heart-melting voice. I guess I'll call it a tie. We fans have already witnessed this trio's blazing live performances — their self-titled album is the recorded proof. I'm guessing that Gabe won't be a secret for long after people hear these songs."
 
Gabe Dixon formed the band with bassist Winston Harrison and drummer Jano Rix when they were students at the University of Miami. Dixon has already been recognized as the "next great pop piano man" (Paste) by artists as varied as Alison Krauss, O.A.R. and Sir Paul McCartney, who have all tapped Dixon to play keyboards both live and in the studio.
 
The trio cut their debut CD live off the floor during ten days at Nashville's renowned Blackbird Studios with co-producer/engineer/mixer Neal Cappellino (Alison Krauss, Mindy Smith, Jonny Lang). The album embeds vividly detailed, intensely personal and universally relatable songs in elegant yet muscular settings that draw, unabashedly and expertly, on classic rock.

The Tennessean
, the newspaper in the band's hometown of Nashville, called it early when it stated in 2005 that Dixon "is a classic pop songwriter [who] deserves to join the ranks of Jackson Browne and early Elton John in the pop pantheon."

THE TOUR DATES:

Wed., Sept. 10  CARRBORO, NC   Cat's Cradle
Thurs. Sept. 11   ASHEVILLE, NC    The Orange Peel
Fri., Sept. 12   NASHVILLE, TN  The Belcourt Theater
Sat., Sept. 13  ATLANTA, GA  Smith's Olde Bar
Sun., Sept. 14   BIRMINGHAM, AL  WorkPlay Theater
Thurs., Sept. 18   BUFFALO, NY  The Town Ballroom
Fri., Sept. 19   BOSTON, MA   Paradise Rock Club
Sat., Sept. 20   NORTHHAMPTON, MA Pearl Street
Mon., Sept. 22   NEW YORK, NY  Bowery Ballroom
Wed., Sept. 24   STATE COLLEGE, PA  The State Theater
Thurs., Sept. 25  PITTSBURGH, PA  Rex Theatre
Sat., Sept. 27  TOWSON, MD  Recher Theatre
Sun., Sept. 28  PHILADELPHIA, PA Theatre of Living Arts
Tues., Sept. 30  CLEVELAND, OH  House of Blues Cambridge Room
Wed., Oct. 1  DETROIT, MI  Shelter
Thurs., Oct. 2  PLYMOUTH, WI  Turner Hall
Sat., Oct. 4  CHICAGO, IL  Martyr's
Sun., Oct. 5  MINNEAPOLIS, MN Varsity Theatre
Wed., Oct. 8  DENVER, CO  Bluebird Theater
Thurs., Oct. 9  MURRAY, UT Murray Theater
Sun., Oct. 12  SEATTLE, WA  Neumo's
Mon., Oct. 13  PORTLAND, OR  Berbati's Pan
Wed., Oct. 15  LOS ANGELES, CA  Roxy Theatre
Fri., Oct. 17  SCOTTSDALE, AZ  Martini Ranch
Sun., Oct. 19  POMONA, CA  The Glass House
Tues., Oct. 21  SAN FRANCISCO, CA Great American Music Hall

Blues Traveler's New Album 'North Hollywood Shootout,' Streets 8/26

John Popper- for the Grateful Web

After selling ten million records worldwide, six gold or platinum albums, and 2,000 shows in front of three million fans, Grammy Award-winning Blues Traveler ventured out of its creative comfort zone to explore some adventurous new horizons for its new album (and Verve Forecast label debut). The resultant North Hollywood Shootout is a landmark in the quintet's large and widely loved body of work, demonstrating the enduring strengths of the band's songwriting while capturing the spontaneous spirit of their legendary live shows.
 
According to frontman and harmonica slinger John Popper, "We're still trying to cultivate what we're individually good at into something that's bigger than the sum of its parts. When we're all playing and it's working, it becomes this separate entity, and that's still the thing that we're chasing."

North Hollywood Shootout — produced by Grammy Award winner David Bianco, whose diverse resume includes work with the likes of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Ozzy Osbourne, Mick Jagger and Teenage Fanclub — draws its curious name from the fact that the band recorded the album in the NoHo district of Los Angeles. Street date is August 26, 2008.
 
Such memorable tunes as the uplifting road-trip anthem "You, Me and Everything," the playfully romantic "Love Does," and the elegant, evocative "Orange in the Sun" boast infectious melodic hooks while showcasing the interactive instrumental chemistry that originally endeared the band to its rabidly devoted fan base.
 
The new material also makes a strong case for the introspective side that's always been a key element of lyricist Popper's persona. The heart-tugging lyrics of the opening track, "Forever Owed," were inspired by the singer's recent USO trip to Afghanistan and Iraq, while the poignant "Borrowed Time" is a bittersweet meditation on mortality and transience, inspired both by the recent passing of bandmates Chan and Tad Kinchla's father and by Popper's feelings for his beloved and aging dog. The album's biggest sonic curveball is its closing track, "Free Willis, Ruminations from Behind Uncle Bob's Machine Shop." The six-minute spoken-word  sound collage finds the band jamming over an insistent drum beat, while actor Bruce Willis, a longtime friend and fan, delivers a colorful freeform monologue/rant.
 
As guitarist Chan Kinchla explains, "On the last few records, we concentrated so much on the crafting of the songwriting and arrangements that we started losing some of the live spontaneity that the five of us created onstage. So on this album, instead of doing the usual pre-production process, where we really worked out the songs before taking them into the studio, we decided to go straight into the studio and do songwriting there. We recorded all the parts as we were working them out, and then built the songs from there."
 
North Hollywood Shootout also found the band ceding more authority to Popper to create the melodies that carry his lyrics. "The main thing that we wanted to emphasize on this record was melody, and I think that aspect of it turned out very well," Popper states. "The guys took a real risk in trusting me to run with that."
 
"I think you have to be constantly reinventing things and discovering new aspects of what you do in order to keep things fresh," Kinchla adds. "This lineup (John Popper, Chan Kinchla, Brendan Hill, Tad Kinchla and Ben Wilson) has been together for eight years. We've spent a lot of time sorting out everyone's role and learning how to listen to each other and get out of each other's way. It's funny, but right now the band is feeling a lot like it did in the early days, when we were just playing for the sake of playing, and we were hitting on all cylinders and the communication was fresh and alive. The shows have been really kicking, and the new songs have been going over great."
 
And speaking of live dates, Blues Traveler is on the road now through the end of the year in support of the new album. The dates:
 
appearing with Live and Collective Soul:
Sun., July 13 LOS ANGELES, CA Greek Theater
Tue., July 15 MESA, AZ Mesa Amphitheatre

Blues Traveler:
Fri., July 18  MINNEAPOLIS, MN Aquatennial Block Party
Mon., July 21 VALPARAISO, IN Porter County Fair

appearing with Live and Collective Soul:
Tues., July 22 DULUTH, MN Bayfront Park  
Thu., July 24 ROCHESTER HILLS, MI Meadow Brook Music Festival  
Fri., July 25 WEST BEND, WI Washington County Fair  ("Mini Takes the States Festival")

Blues Traveler:
Sat., July 26 ELKHART LAKE, WI Road America Race Track

appearing with Live and Collective Soul:
Sun., July 27 FLORENCE, KY Turfway Park  
Tue., July 29 COLUMBUS, OH Lifestyle Communities Pavilion  
Fri., Aug. 1 HERSHEY, PA Hershey Park Pavilion

Blues Traveler:
Sat., Aug. 2 ELGIN, IL Elgin Festival Park  
Sun., Aug 3 CHICAGO, IL Grant Park - Lollapalooza

appearing with Live and Collective Soul:
Tue., Aug. 5 BALTIMORE, MD Pier Six Concert Pavilion  
Wed., Aug. 6 WALLINGFORD, CT Chevrolet Theatre  
Fri., Aug. 8 PHILADELPHIA, PA Festival Pier at Penn's Landing  
Sat., Aug. 9  GILFORD, NH Meadowbrook U.S. Cellular Pavilion  
Tue., Aug. 12 LOWELL, MA Lowell Memorial Auditorium
Wed., Aug. 13 WESTBURY, NY Capital One Bank Theatre at Westbury  
Sat., Aug. 16 CARY, NC Booth Amphitheatre at Regency Park
Sun., Aug. 17 ATLANTA, GA Chastain Park Amphitheatre

Blues Traveler:
Thu., Aug 21  JACKSON, WY  Center for the Arts
Fri., Aug. 22  PARK CITY, UT  Jazz Festival at Deer Valley Resort
Sun., Sept. 28 AUSTIN, TX Austin City Limits Festival