yeasayer

Icy Demons Tour With Of Montreal and Yeasayer

ICY DEMONS- for the Grateful Web

Icy Demons are touring with Of Montreal and Yeasayer to continue supporting their newest album, Miami Ice, released this past July on Obey Your Brain.

Miami Ice, the upbeat and wide-ranging third full-length album from the Chicago/Philadelphia ensemble, features Chris Powell aka Pow Pow (Man Man, Need New Body) on drums, Griffin Rodriguez aka Blue Hawaii (Need New Body, Bablicon) on bass and vocals, Jeff Parker (Tortoise) on guitar, Josh Abrams (Prefuse 73, Sam Prekop) on upright bass, esteemed Chicago improvisor Tomeka Reid on cello and Russell Higbee (Man Man) on guitar. Recorded at Blue Hawaii's Shape Shoppe studio with an odd assortment of vintage keyboards and ethnic percussion used to create warmth, the album focuses on rhythm and melody within songs about dreams, endurance, alien paranoia, community, time travel and the western frontier.

Previously acting as support for Slint, Arcade Fire, Man Man and more, Icy Demons' live shows are energetic and fast paced as the multi-instrumentalist members dance around the stage playing keyboard driven melodies and interlocking rhythms to create a propulsive sound. The touring band consists of five individuals - Chris Kalis, who is also in the recently Obey Your Brain-released dance/prog ensemble Chandeliers, heads up the instrument juggling, Jeremiah Chiu plays multi-handed parts and sings with ease, Emma Yohanan and Dylan Ryan (Bronze, Herculaneum) create the frontline, and Griffin Rodriguez provides vocals and bass. More vocals, clever arrangements and keyboard mastery combine to present a propulsive sound.

Icy Demons'  - Tour Dates:
Thu. Nov. 6    Louisville, KY @ Skull Alley w/ Royal Bangs
Fri. Nov. 7    Nashville, TN @ The End
Sat. Nov. 8    Atlanta, GA @ Tabernacle w/ Of Montreal, Limozeen
Mon. Nov. 10   Birmingham, AL @ Bottle Tree
Tue. Nov. 11   New Orleans, LA @ Howlin Wolf w/ Of Montreal
Wed. Nov. 12   Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live w/ Of Montreal
Thu. Nov. 13   Austin, TX @ Fiesta Gardens w/ Of Montreal
Fri. Nov. 14   Dallas, TX @ House of Blues - Dallas w/ Of Montreal
Sat. Nov. 15   Amarillo, TX @ Nat Ballroom
Sun. Nov. 16   Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre w/ Of Montreal
Mon. Nov. 17   Murray, UT @ Murray Super Theatre w/ Of Montreal
Wed. Nov. 19   Vancouver, BC @ Richard's on Richards w/ Yeasayer
Thu. Nov. 20   Seattle, WA @ Neumo's w/ Yeasayer
Fri. Nov. 21   Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theatre w/ Yeasayer
Sat. Nov. 22   San Francisco, CA @ Bimbo's 365 Club w/ Yeasayer
Sun. Nov. 23   Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour w/ Yeasayer
Tue. Nov. 25   La Jolla, CA @ The Loft (UCSD) w/ Yeasayer
Wed. Nov. 26   Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room w/ Yeasayer
Fri. Nov. 28   Telluride, CO @ Sheridan Opera House w/ Yeasayer
Sat. Nov. 29   Denver, CO @ The Bluebird Theater w/ Yeasayer