third

RJD2 Announces Third & Fourth Legs of His Nation-Wide Tour

As previously announced, RJD2 will be tirelessly touring the US throughout the first part of the new year in support of his highly anticipated new release, The Colossus, out Jan. 19th on his own new label, RJ’s Electrical Connections. We are pleased to announce the third and fourth legs of this tour, taking RJ from coast to coast and well into the month of April. That’s almost one-third of the year, folks! After touring the Southeast, Midwest and beyond, the third leg kicks off with a hometown show at Philly’s First Unitarian Church, followed by performances throughout New England, Canada, and the Midwest, before returning to Pennsylvania. The fourth leg is set to sate fans in both the Mountain and Pacific Time zones. All tour dates are below.

Also, last week, RJ released the first single off The Colossus, “Games You Can Win,” featuring Grammy-nominated, Ethiopian-born artist Kenna. Check it out, post it, share it, enjoy it!

Download “Games You Can Win” here

Previously Announced Dates:

Sat. Jan. 9 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club #

Sun. Jan. 10 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle #

Mon. Jan. 11 - Charlotte, NC @ Visualite Theater #

Tue. Jan. 12 - Savannah, GA @ Live Wire #

Wed. Jan. 13 - Orlando, FL @ The Social #

Thu. Jan. 14 - Tampa, FL @ Crowbar #

Fri. Jan. 15 - Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder #

Sat. Jan. 16 - Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade (Heavan Room) #

Sun. Jan. 17 - Birmingham, AL @ Bottletree #

Mon. Jan. 18 - Chattanooga, TN @ Rhythm and Brews #

Tue. Jan. 19 - Knoxville, TN @ Valarium #

Wed. Jan. 20 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel #

Thu. Jan. 21 - Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theatre #

Fri. Jan. 22 - Morgantown, WV @ 123 Pleasant Street #

Fri. Feb. 5 - Newport, KY @ Southgate House #@

Sat. Feb. 6 - Columbus, OH @ Sully's Music Diner #@

Sun. Feb. 7 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall #@

Mon. Feb. 8 - Nashville, TN @ Exit In #@

Tue. Feb. 9 - Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone Cafe #@

Wed. Feb. 10 - Oxford, MS @ The Lyric Oxford #@

Thu. Feb. 11 - New Orleans, LA @ Tipitinas #@

Fri. Feb. 12 - Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon #@

Sat. Feb. 13 - Austin, TX @ Emos #@

Sun. Feb. 14 - Denton, TX @ Hailey's #@

Wed. Feb. 17 - Kansas City, MO @ The Record Bar #@

Thu. Feb. 18 - Columbia, MO @ The Blue Note #@

Fri. Feb. 19 - Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College - Harris Center #@

Sat. Feb. 20 - Urbana, IL @  Canopy Club #@

New Dates:

Fri. Mar. 5 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church #&

Sat. Mar. 6 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg #&

Sun. Mar. 7 - New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom #&

Mon. Mar. 8 - Boston, MA @ Paradise #&

Tue. Mar. 9 - Providence, RI @ Jerky's Music Hall #&

Wed. Mar. 10 - Montreal, QC @ La TuLipe #&

Thu. Mar. 11 - Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club #&

Fri. Mar. 12 - Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick #&

Sat. Mar. 13 - Chicago, IL @ Metro #&

Mon. Mar. 15 - Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club #&

Tue. Mar. 16 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theater #&

Thu. Mar. 18 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop #&

Fri. Mar. 19 - Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater #&

Fri. Apr. 2 - Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater #$

Sat. Apr. 3 - Durango, CO @ Strater Theatre #$

Sun. Apr. 4 - Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room #$

Mon. Apr. 5 - San Diego, CA @ Casbah #$

Tue. Apr. 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre #$

Wed. Apr. 7 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent #$

Thu. Apr. 8 - Eureka, CA @ Red Fox Tavern #$

Fri. Apr. 9 - Portland, OR @ Dantes #$

Sat. Apr. 10 - Bellingham, WA @ The Nightlight Lounge #$

Sun. Apr. 11 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos #$

# w/ Happy Chichester

@ w/ Kenan Bell

& w/ Break Science

$ w/ Busdriver

ELLNORA | The Guitar Festival wraps Third Successful Event

ELLNORA | The Guitar Festival (the biennial event previously known as Wall to Wall Guitar Festival), held September 10-12, 2009 at the University of Illinois' Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, wrapped up its third successful event with more than 30 world-class guitarists - including 11 free performances - over three days.

Renowned for incredible acoustic spaces, the Krannert Center at Urbana's University of Illinois campus offers an enviable variety of state-of-the-art performance spaces. Every other year, ELLNORA brings an amazingly diverse hand-picked lineup to these incredible rooms, offering a "festival" experience unlike any other.  At this most recent event, attendees witnessed indie-rock darlings The National in a room quiet enough to hear a pin drop, watched Junior Brown play thunderous riffs at Ellnora's opening bash, and enjoyed the classical sounds of some of Johann Sebastian Bach's best modern interpreters (including Nigel North, Paul Galbraith and the Brazilian Guitar Quartet) performing live at special festival offering dubbed "Bachfest."

Taking full advantage of Krannert's facilities, the 2009 event moved further into the integration of music and art, this year highlighting especially the visual arts. Bill Frisell performed his moving Disfarmer Project, an ode to photographer Mike Disfarmer's Great Depression-era photos; The Long Count paired visual art phenomenon Matthew Ritchie with Bryce and Aaron Dessner (The National) and Kim and Kelley Deal (The Breeders, The Pixies) to create a feast of images and song-filled myth about the beginning of time; and in an outside amphitheater, fans enjoyed silent films accompanied by live musicians (Alex De Grassi and Leni Stern Quartet) performing soundtracks they'd composed especially for the films.

Mike Ross, Director of the Krannert Center, recapped the weekend saying, "It's been a fabulous joy to watch this talent-packed, high-energy festival become a major signature piece for our vibrant micro-urban community in such a short time. The overwhelming response we received from this year's audiences signals an even more robust pathway forward."

Check out www.ellnoraguitarfestival.com for videos, photos, interviews and more from the 2009 event.