wed

James McMurtry gets iPhone app, embarks on Western tour

James McMurtry fans can now stay up to date with concert information, photos, videos, music and blog posts while they are on the go with the  his new official iPhone application.  The app also allows users to post photos from their iPhone directly to the fan community and engage other fans across Facebook and iLike. The app is available for $.99 at the link here.

McMurtry and his band will be touring the western United States in support of his latest release, Live in Europe (Lightning Rod Records). The album is a document of McMurtry’s first European tour, on which he was joined by keyboardist Ian McLagan and fellow Texas songwriting legend Jon Dee Graham. The set is available as a CD with a bonus DVD, or as a deluxe vinyl LP package with a CD and DVD insert.

Live in Europe, available as a CD/DVD set or as a vinyl LP/DVD set, has earned praise from the critics. Mike Seely, writing in the Seattle Weekly, wrote: “The great Texan James McMurtry released a new album of old material in 2009—in other words, a live album. No matter: Mere mention of its drop date gave me an excuse to delve deeper into McMurtry's supremely underrated oeuvre. . . This re-exposure made me surer than ever that McMurtry is the Springsteen of the South.”

Blurt’s Steve Pick added, “With a new administration in office, he's taken six of the less directly political songs from that record, added two other older cuts, and brought out Live in Europe. It's another chance to notice how in and around the anger about macroscopic events, McMurtry is capable of extraordinary nuance in describing the lives of ordinary people on a microscopic level.”

In addition, McMurtry’s 2005 song “We Can’t Make it Here” was listed as the “Song of the Decade” both by the Lefsetz Letter’s Bob Lefsetz, and by NoDepression.com’s Grant Alden, the latter of whom called it, “Angry and musically adventurous and pissed off, which is different from angry. And a summary of how this decade felt, from my side of the typing.” The Nation declared McMurtry “Most Important Rocker.”

TOUR DATES
Sat., Jan. 16  NEW BRAUNFELS, TX Gruene Hall
Sat., Jan. 30  SPICEWOOD, TX Poodie’s Hilltop Bar & Grill
Sat., Feb. 6 ALPINE, TX Railroad Blues
Tues., Feb. 9 TUCSON, AZ Club Congress
Wed., Feb. 10 PHOENIX, AZ Rhythm Room
Thurs., Feb. 11 LOS ANGELES, CA The Mint
Fri., Feb. 12  SANTA MONICA, CA McCabe's Guitar Shop
Sat.-Sun., Feb. 13-14  SANTA CRUZ, CA Don Quixote's Int’l Music Hall
Tues., Feb. 16  SAN FRANCISCO, CA Great American Music Hall
Wed., Feb. 17  WINTERS, CA The Palms
Fri., Feb. 19  PORTLAND, OR Aladdin Theater
Sat., Feb. 20  EUGENE, OR WOW Hall
Sun., Feb. 21  SEATTLE , WA Tractor Tavern
Tues., Feb. 23  BOISE, ID Neurolux
Wed., Feb. 24  SALT LAKE CITY, UT The State Room
Thurs., Feb. 25  PAONIA, CO Paradise Theater
Fri., Feb. 26  FT COLLINS, CO Aggie Theater
Sat., Feb. 27  BOULDER, CO Fox Theater
Sun., Feb. 28  OMAHA, NE The Waiting Room
Tues., March 2 KANSAS CITY, MO Knuckleheads
Wed., March 3 COLUMBIA, MO Mojo's
Fri., March 5  OKLAHOMA CITY, OK Wormy Dog Saloon
Sat., March 6  FORT WORTH, TX The Aardvark

Ted Nash Mancini Project Wed. Dec. 2nd At The Iridium Jazz Club

The Ted Mancini Project will play the Iridium Jazz Club on Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009.  The Mancini Project features Ted Nash's interpretations of film composer Henry Mancini's work. The project is deeply personal to Ted as his father played on most of the Mancini soundtracks and Ted grew up listening to this music. The overall sound is seductive and smooth. It reminds me most in style of 60's bossa nova (Stan Getz) and 50's jazz. Also is has a bit of a lounge feel to it. The album is played by a quartet - Rufus Reid bass, Frank Kimbrough piano, Matt Wilson drums, and Nash on tenor sax, alto sax, soprano sax, alto flute and piccolo. The spacing on the album is great. Each musician's part can be clearly heard and the sound is never cluttered. More so than any other of Nash's album, this quartet setting really showcases Nash's playing on a variety of instruments as he is the primary soloist throughout the album. On his other albums there always seems to be so much going on that you don't always get a great look at Nash's playing. Here the sound is very clean and crisp. You really get to see all sides of Nash's playin.

IRIDIUM JAZZ CLUB
1650 BROADWAY (CORNER OF 51ST)
NEW YORK, NY 10023
RESERVATIONS: 212-582-2121
HTTP://WWW.IRIDIUMJAZZCLUB.COM/