Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Phantoms | Regency Ballroom | Review

Submitted by Ashleigh Biggs on Tue, 01/10/2017 - 10:10 am

Up and coming electronic duo, Phantoms, brought the party (and the Jameson) to the San Francisco Bay Area.

On what was a rather warm evening, and I mean really quite warm for 9 o’clock on a day in mid-November, Phantoms returned to the city of San Francisco with their ever-so-catchy electronic synth beats and dark pop melodies.

Keller Williams' KWahtro | "Sync" | Review

Submitted by Emerson Kerwin on Mon, 01/09/2017 - 9:19 am

Keller Williams is a genre-fusing multi-instrumentalist and vocalist best known for his eclectic one-man-band performances. Williams’ live shows are delightful showcases of musicianship, as Keller employs loop pedals and multiple instruments to provide the audience with an experience not unlike the interplay of a full band. This approach has made Williams a perfect fit for collaboration with an impressive variety of artists from different genres, including The String Cheese Incident and Yonder Mountain String Band.

Porter Robinson + Madeon | Review

Submitted by Ashleigh Biggs on Sun, 01/08/2017 - 2:24 pm

Shelter Live Tour returns to northern California for one more night of pure bliss!

Porter Robinson and Madeon make their way back up California to touch ground in Sacramento. Halfway through the North American leg of the Shelter Live Tour, an additional date was added in northern California to the surprise and delight of thousands of fans that were unsuccessful in their attempts to get tickets to the two sold out shows in San Francisco.

Iration | "Double Up" | Review

Submitted by Travis Parke on Sat, 01/07/2017 - 6:36 am

Everybody’s past has a soundtrack. It’s an often-random selection of music that has accompanied, and in some cases, defined stages of our lives. As we grow older, tastes change and more is added to the soundtrack. Songs and artists are archived in our memory, assigned specific events or entire periods of our lives.

Until listening to this album, I had no clue the extent to which Iration is the soundtrack of my young adulthood.

Stick Figure | Cervantes | NYE | Review

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Wed, 01/04/2017 - 12:32 pm

Continuing a highly successful run through 2016, Stick Figure rang in the New Year with a pair of sold out shows at Cervantes’ Masterpiece Ballroom in Denver.  Colorado has been kind to the band the past year, and in return they’ve delivered a number of shows across the state. No resolution should change that.

Karl Denson's 60th Birthday Bash | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Wed, 01/04/2017 - 9:12 am

In a time where the music industry is topsy-turvy, we need artists like Karl Denson more than ever. The multifarious Denson fares innately in different genres, as bandleader or sideman, and paid his dues as a touring musician that came into his own. The San Diego based saxophonist first gained recognition as a member of Lenny Kravitz and quickly soon after broke through in the A-list jazz circuit. His ambitious bop-oriented Chunky Pecan Pie (1994) featured an impressive supporting lineup of Jack DeJohnette & Dave Holland.

A Tribe Called Red | Lincoln Hall | Review

Submitted by June Reedy on Fri, 12/23/2016 - 4:38 pm

On December 7, 2016, a Wednesday evening, A Tribe Called Red sold out Chicago’s Lincoln Hall.  Hailing from Ottawa, Canada, ATCR is turning up the beat on the human tribe’s dance party.  With globalized attention on the water protectors at Standing Rock ND, the time is ripe for ATCR to bring their indigenous music to the masses.

Turkuaz & The New Mastersounds | Indy

Submitted by Cassidy Maley on Fri, 12/23/2016 - 3:34 pm

With my belly full of turkey from the day before, I waddled my way out to the wintery streets of Indianapolis to The Vogue Theatre to catch my very first Turkuaz show. And, oh what a show it was! On November 26th, Turkuaz and The New Mastersounds, came to shake the dance floors of Indianapolis. It was a night of firsts for me.

Theo Katzman | Heartbreak Hits | Preview

Submitted by Emerson Kerwin on Tue, 12/20/2016 - 5:32 pm

Theo Katzman, best known for his work with the ever-funky Vulfpeck, has released three energetic tracks from his forthcoming solo-album, Heartbreak Hits. Katzman is a talented multi-instrumentalist, and his previous solo endeavor, Romance Without Finance, received well-deserved acclaim. His eclectic tastes are evident on the tracks we’ve heard so far, which blend classic and pop rock instrumentals with some rather funky licks.

Travelin' McCourys | The Caribou Room

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Mon, 12/19/2016 - 5:02 pm

The Travelin’ McCourys’ show in Nederland on Friday wasn’t a voracious late night affair fueled with moonshine fumes and guest sit-ins. It wasn’t an improvised, slam-grass stomper. It was five musicians atop their craft advancing in banter and harmonious bluegrass memories while chiding one another between songs like a vaudeville act.

Archived news