Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Thee Oh Sees | Putrifiers II | New Music Review

Submitted by Ben Welp on Mon, 08/27/2012 - 6:04 am

After fourteen full length albums, eight EPs and five record labels Thee Oh Sees are starting to relax.  Well, sort of. In a press release for Putrifiers II out September 11, John Dwyer spells it out, “I will still strike an audience in the brain,” although he admits, “maybe every now and then it would be okay if we relaxed a little.”It is safe to say that Thee Oh Sees are willing to chase any spark of inspiration down the rabbit hole.

Jet Edison, WhiteWater Ramble & The Magic Beans Live in Boulder

Submitted by Daniel Neubert on Mon, 08/27/2012 - 4:10 am

With the Kinfolk Celebration and NedFest right around the corner, I decided to trek down to the Boulder Theater on Thursday night to give my ears a little warm-up session with WhiteWater Ramble and local Boulder band The Magic Beans.

Jimmy Herring | Subject To Change Without Notice Tour | Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Sat, 08/25/2012 - 5:51 am

Jimmy Herring Band kicked off the 2012 Subject to Change Without Notice Tour at the Aggie Theater in Fort Collins, CO, this August 22. Herring took the stage with an instrumental ensemble featuring members Jeff Sipe AKA “The Apartment Q-258″ (Drums), Matt Slocum (Piano/Keyboards), and Neal Fountain (Bass).

The Ultimate Dance Party with Los Amigos Invisibles in Denver

Submitted by V Mouchilison on Thu, 08/23/2012 - 9:03 pm

If you’re looking for a night of dancing then The Bluebird Theatre in Denver is the place to be on September 18 at 8 p.m.Venezuelan Latin Funk Band Los Amigos Invisibles are legends in the Latin music scene. They introduced a sound with a mixture of samba, salsa, rock, funk, disco and electronic .

Rachel Brown | Building Castles | New Music Review

Submitted by V Mouchilison on Thu, 08/23/2012 - 9:47 am

Rachel Brown's roots are apparent from the moment you hear her music. Her roots are stemmed from Ethiopian, Bermudian and Southern influences are beautifully carried throughout her sound. Brown's distinct sound crosses the genres of pop, Caribbean, Hawaiian, African, country, hip- hop, and soul.

Pomegranates | Heaven | New Music Review

Submitted by Holden Young on Wed, 08/22/2012 - 5:13 pm

If indie-rock ever could ever possibly get together for a night of baby-making romance with disco then they might spawn the new Pomegranates CD entitled Heaven.  This romance may never actually happen but that is the beauty of art.  The falsetto vocals and heavy hi-hat carry the first two-tracks and then dive into fevered lo-fi rock into the third and fourth.  So far, I'm loving the Summer-driving-music sound of the CD.  Where I really get turned-on though is the fifth track breakdown aptly named “S

Jimmy Herring | Subject To Change Without Notice | Album Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Tue, 08/21/2012 - 2:48 pm

Jimmy Herring’s second solo album, Subject to Change Without Notice -available via Abstract Logix- is an instrumental album inspired by the human voice. Herring reveals on his website “It’s ironic: I play instrumental music and all I want to do is be a singer.”  Yet, his iconic playing style has a voice of its own. With an extensive vocabulary that spans almost 40 years. Herring studied guitar at Berklee College of Music and the Guitar Institute of Technology before becoming a luminary in the Jazz Fusion scene.

Shakedown Street Plays Iconic Show at the Fox Theater

Submitted by Sara Reifman on Sat, 08/18/2012 - 12:26 pm

Nostalgic sentiment was running high at the Fox Theater (more photos) on August 17th as Shakedown Street took the stage.  This may always be the case to some extent when Shakedown Street plays, as they are a well-known Grateful Dead tribute band, a concept that is ripe with nostalgia by definition. 

Archived news