Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Lee Johnson's Dead Symphony #6 Live

Submitted by sanjay on Mon, 08/11/2008 - 8:05 pm

In many ways the Grateful Dead's music was destined from the beginning to be a symphony, much as the band itself was an orchestra with core members and a rotating cast lending a hand.  When I was a kid and my father would listen to them I would immediately be able to draw similarities due to the complexities between their music and classical.  Perhaps that's why it's fitting that finally after all these years someone has finally written a symphony which is based on and inspired by the

Photos and Video of the Emmitt Nershi Band Show in Boulder

Submitted by gratefulweb on Thu, 08/07/2008 - 4:21 pm

The Grateful Web was on-hand at last night's Emmitt Nershi Band show at the Boulder Theater.   We have some pictures and videos clips from the show.  Thanks to the folks at the Theater for their warm hospitality.

 

Enjoy,

Keller Williams, Magical Music Man

Submitted by sam on Wed, 08/06/2008 - 9:57 pm

Last weekend, Keller Williams played a double dose of his unique one-man-band music to us lucky Colorado residents, with a solo show at the Fox Theatre in Boulder on Friday, followed by a night with the Yonder Mountain String Band at Red Rocks Amphitheater in Morrison on Saturday.  Better yet, the Friday night show was "An

Pepper | Pink Crustaceans and Good Vibrations | Review

Submitted by sam on Tue, 08/05/2008 - 8:50 pm

On Tuesday July 22nd, SoCal based band Pepper released their new album, Pink Crustaceans and Good Vibrations.  Originally from Hawaii, the band brought their island rhythms and sounds with them to the mainland a few years back after they were noticed by a Los Angeles based indie record label.

BoomBox Rox the Fox

Submitted by sam on Sun, 08/03/2008 - 10:43 am

A little while back, I posted a simple note underneath a photo I had posted on my Flickr page, a photo of the two-man electro-fusion band BoomBox, stating that I predicted people would be hearing more about this band in the future.  Little did I know at the time that not only would my prophecy come true in fairly rapid order, but that it would be me who did the telling.

Topics

Joby's Retro Reviews (JGB 8-29-1987)

Submitted by Joby Goob on Fri, 08/01/2008 - 11:32 am

This is hands down one of the cleanest, best sounding soundboards I've ever heard of a Jerry Garcia Band show. As you may know, Jerry never authorized recording of any incarnation of the Jerry Garcia Band, so most recordings in circulation are stealth audience recordings. Soundboard patches were few and far between, so everyone in current circulation is like gold to me. This one is absolutely perfect, with a pristine mix and gorgeous tone all the way through.

Widespread Panic in the City of Dreams

Submitted by Philip Emma on Sat, 07/19/2008 - 12:01 am

Okay let's face it, Widespread Panic doesn't have the largest following in the city of Philadelphia. On the other hand, sometimes it's better to see a great band in a place where the crowd is small. Such was the case on this July night at Festival Pier. This was the last show before their performance at the All Good Music Festival the next day.

Topics

Super 400: “For The Rock and Rollers”

Submitted by Stites McDaniel on Fri, 07/18/2008 - 7:35 pm
I like the word timeless, but what does it really mean? Last night, driving up to The Saint in Asbury Park, NJ for the Super 400 and Speakeasy co-bill, I had some examples of timelessness present themselves. Pearl Jam, driving with the windows down and the sunroof open, The Black Crowes, a quarter pounder with cheese meal: all timeless.
Topics

Archived news