Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

New Mastersounds Give Denver the Funk of its Life

Submitted by gratefulweb on Tue, 01/22/2008 - 9:26 pm

When we Yanks think about England, what comes to mind? High tea? Mary Poppins? The Queen Mum? The Stamp Tax? What about gumbo? How about fur-lined bucket hats and matching full length mink coats and platform shoes with the goldfish in the bottom? No? Allow me to spot you three letters and that should be a hint at where I'm headed: "U-N-K."

Topics

Untitled | Wake Up! | Review

Submitted by Janie Franz on Fri, 01/04/2008 - 10:41 pm

Like many music journalists, I've reviewed a wide range of genres, including Christian artists. I reviewed hot gospel groups that got me up moving to their beat, soul singers who thrilled me with their vocal talents, and grungy screamer bands that I had to admire for playing rough metal venues. Some of the messages were in-your-face and radical. Others were just new takes on traditional themes and didn't do much musically or spiritually.

Topics

Keller Williams, Ratdog, and The Allman Brothers = Guitar Fest!

Submitted by Philip Emma on Thu, 12/27/2007 - 12:29 pm

On August 18th, 2007 at the Tweeter Center in Camden, the sounds of powerful guitar combinations took center stage. Most people who love music equate the summertime with sitting on blanket on a lawn or dancing barefoot on the lawn of an amphitheater and enjoying the fruits of their favorite bands. This is what this show represented for a lot of people. These musicians have been staples to our scene for years, and for the most part, they haven't missed a beat.

Topics

The Warren Haynes Christmas Jam | 2007

Submitted by sanjay on Fri, 12/21/2007 - 11:27 am

The Warren Haynes Christmas Jam, an annual event to benefit Habitat for Humanity, brings some of the top musical talent in the world to the beautiful mountain city of Asheville, NC.  This year the lineup stretched further beyond its traditional jam band focused roster to include such musical greats as Jackson Browne and Peter Frampton

The New Mastersounds | Denver, CO | 11/16/07 | Review

Submitted by gratefulweb on Tue, 11/20/2007 - 3:15 pm

Send out the riders, the British are coming, and they're packing heat. The four lads from Leeds known as The New Mastersounds opened for J.J. Grey & Mofro, hitting the Ogden Theatre in Denver on Friday night like a punch in the face and sending the crowd home with sore muscles.

Umphrey's McGee | Live at the Murat | Review

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Fri, 11/09/2007 - 10:09 pm

One would think that a band that is so well-known for their live performances would have released multiple concert discs by now.  With the exception of a few "indie" releases years ago, prog-rock kings Umphrey's McGee waited until this month to birth their first commercially available, official live album entitled Live at the Murat.

Photos from the Drew Emmitt & Billy Nershi Halloween Show

Submitted by gratefulweb on Thu, 11/01/2007 - 9:57 am

Drew Emmitt (Leftover Salmon) & Billy Nershi (String Cheese Incident) teamed up last night to play a show at the Boulder Theater.  Grateful Web was on-hand to snap some photos.  There will be some changes to the pictures, as unfortunately I uploaded them last night without changing all vertical pictures to be right side up, so my apologies...

Archived news