Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

The String Cheese Incident Bows Out in Fine Form

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Tue, 08/28/2007 - 11:42 pm

As the saying goes, breaking up is hard to do.  However the end of the first chapter of the String Cheese Incident might have been the most amicable amongst any artists in recent musical history.  The members of the band have decided to part ways indefinitely in order to pursue other artistic interests and frankly back away fr

RAQ Rockin' the Boat in NYC | 7/27/07

Submitted by Philip Emma on Wed, 08/15/2007 - 4:14 pm

On July 27th, RAQ set sail for a unique set on the Rocks Off Boat Cruise around the Statue of Liberty. It was their first show back on tour after their own festival the weekend before called the Lew Au II, which took place in their home state of Vermont. As the boat boarded, the fans realized how exciting this was going to be and the cheering and anticipation was imminent. The tiny intimate boat set sail at around 10pm, and the band came on shortly after.

Umphrey's McGee with Tea Leaf Green | 6/1/2007 | Review

Submitted by Philip Emma on Wed, 08/01/2007 - 11:57 am

The buzz from the excited crowd anticipating two of the jam band's scene's most up and coming bands was fresh and impulsive. These are bands that have mostly broken through by their tediousness in touring and their successful musical appearances at major festivals such as Bonnaroo and Wakarusa.

Page McConnell -- Doin' His Thing

Submitted by Philip Emma on Tue, 07/31/2007 - 8:28 pm

The official launch of Page's tour was here in Philadelphia at the World Café Live about a month earlier than this show, and it was broadcasted live for WXPN. I played hooky from work that day to review that show, and on this night I expected many of the same songs from the new self titled album.

RAQ – En Fuego en Cinco de Mayo

Submitted by Philip Emma on Thu, 07/26/2007 - 8:37 pm

RAQ came back to North by Northwest in Philadelphia on Cinco de Mayo after a terrific show in Virginia where die hard fans boarded a bus to follow them north to this Philly show. The momentum of RAQ is building, but they really seem to enjoy playing at this small almost secret venue tucked in a unique corner of the city. And after seeing them twice here, I don't blame them.

Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra / State Radio: Crazy Co-bill

Submitted by Philip Emma on Sat, 06/09/2007 - 12:40 pm

This was my first time in the old fashioned Theatre of the Living Arts since it has turned into the Fillmore at the TLA, and it was a very interesting bill for me. I am very familiar with the current afrobeat champions from Brooklyn, on the other hand, I've never heard of State Radio so I was interested in seeing a new band.

Topics

Kyle Hollingsworth Shows His "Soulside"

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Sat, 06/09/2007 - 11:40 am

With the end of the String Cheese Incident looming, keyboardist Kyle Hollingsworth debuted yet another side project aptly called soulside.  Of all his collaborations, this one might seem like the most odd of pairings:  Kyle, DJ Logic, and Speech of Arrested Development.  Flanked by Ryan Jalbert on guitar, Garrett Sayers on bass, and

The Motet: Staying True to the Sound

Submitted by Philip Emma on Sat, 05/26/2007 - 6:07 pm

It was in a small hipster bar in the Northern Liberties section of Philadelphia where I met the band for a pre-show birthday dinner for my good friend and road manager Ben Scrimali. The members of the band were extremely down to earth and friendly as we talked about Boulder and the ever changing music of the Motet. After we ate and drank it was time to be merry and mosey over to the Fire, another small bar in the big city.

Topics

Archived news