Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Super 400: “For The Rock and Rollers”

Submitted by Stites McDaniel on Fri, 07/18/2008 - 7:35 pm
I like the word timeless, but what does it really mean? Last night, driving up to The Saint in Asbury Park, NJ for the Super 400 and Speakeasy co-bill, I had some examples of timelessness present themselves. Pearl Jam, driving with the windows down and the sunroof open, The Black Crowes, a quarter pounder with cheese meal: all timeless.
Topics

Trey Anastasio | Original Boardwalk Style | Review

Submitted by Tim Hurley on Thu, 07/17/2008 - 8:56 pm

"The time has come for you to be alive again!" shouts singer/songwriter/guitarist Trey Anastasio during a ripping rendition of "Alive Again" from his latest live release, Original Boardwalk Style (Rubber Jungle Records).  The time has definitely come for Trey to be alive again, since he has just completed his one year court-ordered drug treatment program, and is gearing up to hit the road for a handful of solo performances before staging what is sure to be a grand fall tour.

RatDog/Gov't Mule | June 21st, 2008 | Seattle, WA

Submitted by gratefulweb on Wed, 07/16/2008 - 5:17 pm

With more than just crowd pleasers at Seattle's WaMu Theater, Gov't Mule and Ratdog co-headlined a fine show!  Arguably an unlikely tour duo, Bob Weir and Warren Haynes delighted Seattle with this second stop on their Summer tour.

Here are just a couple highlights I took home from the industrial, cavernous, nouveau concert hall:

Charlie Hunter and Nels Cline play the Boulder Theater

Submitted by sam on Wed, 07/16/2008 - 4:43 pm

"Excuse me sir, can I help you find something?"

"No, I don't think so."

"Well which seats are you supposed to be in?"

"Seats? What do you mean?"

"This is the reserved seating section, you have to have a special ticket to sit down here."

"Oh, no problem. I'm not going to sit, I'm here to take pictures of the band."

Topics

Keller Williams & Yonder Mountain String Band (6.28.08)

Submitted by Stites McDaniel on Thu, 07/10/2008 - 10:00 pm

If you have never gone on tour with your favorite band into the southeastern corner of our fine nation, you are missing out. Patchwork skirts are replaced by sundresses. Patchouli and dope are replaced by Old Spice and cigarettes. And syncopated dancing with eyes closed is replaced by fists in the air and raucous sing-alongs.

Topics

Joby's Retro Dead Reviews Volume II - 3.28.90

Submitted by Joby Goob on Sat, 07/05/2008 - 9:18 pm

The Grateful Dead was at their absolute "post-coma" peak from the summer of 1989 through the summer of 1990. They had never been more popular, playing at consistently sold out venues and even selling out some huge arenas. Jerry Garcia was by all reports clean and sober, and his playing and singing hadn't been as good since the late 70's. The whole band, as always, fed off Garcia's newfound energy and their playing reached levels not seen for over a decade.

KJ Denhert: Urban Folk and Jazz

Submitted by Janie Franz on Fri, 07/04/2008 - 9:09 pm

When the new disc by KJ Denert landed in my snail mail box, I didn't think much about it, considering I get a lot of unsolicited CDs for review. But when I put this one into my player, I was thrilled to discover a new artist to add to my faves pile. Lucky 7 is Denhert's seventh album on her Mother Cyclone Records label. She is a remarkable talent.

Archived news