Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Devendra Banhart | Cripple Crow | Review

Submitted by Lynel on Fri, 04/07/2006 - 8:06 pm

It's always hard to sum up a whole CD in just a few paragraphs. Some artists work their lyrics into their music and some make the music around the words they write. Devendra Banhart's fourth album is a combination of both smooth melodies and pop beats. His style of music he is creating crosses into the "freak-folk" category.  This is the first album of his I have heard but understand he comes from a very four track solo artist background. This album is very polished and you can tell the 24 year old is finding his own voice and sound.

Hunter Thompsons Ghost I: The Afterlife does not disappoint

Submitted by gratefulweb on Wed, 03/01/2006 - 5:52 pm

The afterlife does not disappoint.  I share a room in Hell with Gordon Liddy's mother, (not a bad gig if you don't mind mustached women on the "bony" side) a floor above Nixon, who, as is only fitting, is rooming with his mother.  They seem to get on quite well with each other and refuse to stop blaming JFK for the fact that they are here.  One of the few pleasures afforded me is the opportunity to remind them, as I pass en route to my afternoon torture session, that the sole reason I've taken up residence in this mindless dump is due to a technicality…  It seem

Good Times Bad Times: Rose Hill Drive Does Zeppelin I

Submitted by Lynel on Thu, 01/05/2006 - 2:23 pm

As I walked up to the Boulder Theater on Friday night there were a ton of people standing out side. Normally these are fans having their last cigarette before heading into the venue for the show. But tonight all of these people were looking for anyone with an extra ticket. I grabbed my ticket from will call and headed in to the all ages show. The place was packed! I heard there were 115 people on the guest list, not to mention the fact the place was sold out by Friday morning.

Topics

Punked Up: NoPlotKill @ The Soiled Dove

Submitted by derek on Thu, 12/29/2005 - 7:14 pm

Well, now that the hollidaze are just about over I can get back at the writing. This article was meant to be up a long long time ago! (Sorry guys!!) My home computer decided to crap out on me and cause me to lose all files! So, the first version of this review, plus all eight gigs of my mp3's and numerous  entertainment" files have all been lost! Damn. Well it's on with the show I guess.

Topics

Dr. John plays ETOWN

Submitted by Philip Emma on Fri, 12/16/2005 - 5:11 pm

Review of the live taping of the eTown variety show at the Boulder Theatre in Boulder, CO, featuring the great Dr. John and new singer-songwriter Billy Miles on March 23 2005.

Last night I attended a live musical event which was much different than the concerts that I am used to.  I went to my second live broadcasting of the national radio show called etown.

Topics

The Bad Plus | Boulder Theater | 10/31/05 | Review

Submitted by Lynel on Sat, 11/05/2005 - 7:56 pm

The Bad Plus at the Boulder Theater Halloween night was a truly fun event. Taking the stage at 9:30pm the three piece Jazz band made up of Reid Anderson on bass, Ethan Iverson on Piano, and David King on drums settled on the stage in the glow of a warm red light. They opened up with the theme from the movie Halloween evoking light laughter from the audience. They continued to tease the Theme from Halloween through out the night.

Archived news