Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

The Mantras/Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band | New Years | Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Wed, 01/09/2013 - 7:20 pm

On December 31, 2012, The Mantras along with Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band, rang in 2013 in fine fashion at Greensboro, North Carolina's Blind Tiger.  On this leg of the tour, the Mantras and Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band are alternating the headlining role from night to night.

FIDLAR | 'FIDLAR' | New Music Review

Submitted by Ryan Cavanaugh on Tue, 01/08/2013 - 5:16 pm

These SoCal miscreants came shredding down the alleys of the LA punk scene in 2009, and have recently been LA-reppin’ with the likes of Pitchfork and SPIN Magazine. FIDLAR consists of Zac Carper, Brandon Schwartzel, and brothers, Elvis and Max Kuehn, and the boys are set to release their eponymous record on Mom & Pop/Wichita recordings January 22nd. This highly anticipated release is fresh on the heels of a year spent touring with the Hives, Delta Spirit, and JEFF the Brotherhood.

Phish | Madison Square Garden | New York |12/30/2012 | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Mon, 01/07/2013 - 11:00 am

“Never miss a Sunday show.” This has long been word of the wise from many Phish fans when it comes to experiencing a run of shows. On top of that, the date 12/30 has always been a legendary night for the band. Walking into Madison Square Garden that Sunday night I expected to hear an entertaining show and hoped for some longer extended jams. After all, the opening two nights had overall solid set lists, but there was definitely room for more experimental jamming and improvisation.

The Motet | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | 12/31/12 | Review

Submitted by Charles Sokoloff on Sun, 01/06/2013 - 4:00 am

The first time it happened, in December of 2001, I was in a room roughly the size of The Fox Theatre in Boulder. I stood ten feet from the edge of the stage while my girlfriend and her sorority sister shared a stale rum ‘n’ coke beneath the east wall jungle mural. Ekoostik Hookah, an Ohio-based jamband, launched into the eurhythmic, tom-driven section of their epic piece, Ecstasy.

Lotus | Rams Head Live | Baltimore, MD | 12/30/2012 | Review

Submitted by Faye Peck on Sun, 01/06/2013 - 3:15 am

Three years ago, my grandma was diagnosed with cancer, fighting through the chemo with a smile on her face and light in her heart. Through her, the story and the power of the Lotus flower began to show itself to me. Deep beneath the dark, the Lotus begins its struggle.  Beckoning towards the surface of the glassy pond, Lotus does not stop until the sunshine meets her.

From The Perspective Of The Couch Phish | New Years Run | NYC

Submitted by John Tarricone on Sat, 01/05/2013 - 5:20 am

It's the age old debate (Or at least one that’s been fretted over for about the last 10 years or so): “Couch Touring” Vs. the “In Person” experience.

I have been privy to those who claim couch touring is not a valid way to see a performance; In fact, I’ve heard people say that those who have streamed shows in the comfort of their homes can’t really count that as officially “seeing the shows”. In other words, if I’d been to 30 shows, but 15 were on couch tour, I’ve technically only seen 15 shows.

Elephant Revival | Aggie Theater | 12/31/2012 | Review

Submitted by Matt Cook on Fri, 01/04/2013 - 4:38 pm

New Year’s Eve can be celebrated in many different ways. Some people choose to be close with their loved ones, others want to find to wildest party, or for some it’s just another day. Music lovers across the land can undoubtedly agree that New Years Eve means good music with large array of shows to choose from. I particularly like the themes of these nights; reflection, celebration and renewal. I find people are always more positive on New Year’s Eve than other holidays. First, obviously there’s always a party.

String Cheese Incident | 1st Bank Center | 12/31/2012 | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Thu, 01/03/2013 - 11:35 am

Many people love the holidays for different reasons. Christmas means family, friends, giving and receiving. Here in Colorado its usually around when our skiing gets pretty good and things tend to quiet down as students are off of classes and folks get a few days away from their jobs to spend time with those who matter. For many, the best time about the Holidays in New Years Eve. No matter what your up to, it needs to be exceptional. In Colorado, New Years usually means great music.

Eliot Lipp @ George's Majestic Lounge | Fayetteville, AR | Preview

Submitted by Michelle Miesse on Wed, 01/02/2013 - 5:56 pm

Electro-funk artist Eliot Lipp has been touring for over 8 years now, bringing his bass beats, expert melodies and unique live shows to festivals and concert venues all across the United States and beyond (hopefully soon he’ll venture into space!). As electronic music evolves, so does Eliot Lipp.His live shows are well-known as rhythmic, melodic and bass-heavy; and they typically span all of his albums along with some tasteful electro-jamming and rad remixes.

Archived news