Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

DJ Muggs | Bass For Your Face | New Music Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Wed, 12/12/2012 - 3:01 pm

In an ever-changing music industry musicians and producers alike must learn to adapt to new sounds, trends, and styles to stay relevant. Nobody knows this more than longtime beat master and hip-hop veteran DJ Muggs, whose illustrious career has helped solidify himself a position as one of the utmost pioneers in hip-hop music today. Muggs began deejaying back in 1985 and started to build a reputation as one of the premier DJ’s of his time.

Good Gravy! | Aggie Theater | Fort Collins, Colorado | Review

Submitted by Matt Cook on Wed, 12/12/2012 - 10:44 am

In a town that prides itself on a diverse music and arts scene it comes to no surprise to see a band like Good Gravy rise from the mix. With bluegrass roots combined with eclectic jams, this 5 piece groups creates a warm, welcoming sound that invites the crowd to get down on the dance floor. Although the roots of this group are imbedded in bluegrass, Good Gravy dissolves boundaries playing a mix of jam rock, jazz, funk and psychedelic grooves.

Allies For Everyone | Scavenger (The Remix EP) | Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Tue, 12/11/2012 - 4:07 pm

Combining the sounds of 90’s dance progressive house with modern age electro has given singer/songwriter/producer Brian Suarez quite a reputation in the electronic music today. Catch Allies for Everyone live and you will see him combine forces with Arvin Ajamian to form a synth-heavy wonderland of beats and bass. Eclectic pop music with a twist, Allies For Everyone blends the roots of house music with today’s modern feel of electro house.

Divine Fits | A Thing Called Divine Fits | Review

Submitted by Kevin Adams on Mon, 12/10/2012 - 4:25 pm

2012 saw the release of critically acclaimed album A Thing Called Divine Fits, by what, ostensibly, could be called a “super-group.”  Divine Fits is the new project comprised of Britt Daniel (Spoon), Dan Boeckner (Handsome Furs/Wolf Parade), Sam Brown (New Bomb Turks) and keyboardist Alex Fische.

Gov't Mule & The Lee Boys | The National | 10/22/12 | Review

Submitted by Stephen Boyd on Mon, 12/10/2012 - 11:06 am

The Lee Boys are the finest “sacred steel” ensembles I’ve ever had the pleasure to see. Within just a few notes, I and everyone I was with for the evening knew The Lee Boys had something special happening.  The band members include three brothers, Alvin Lee , Derrick Lee and Keith Lee.  They are joined by their nephews Roosevelt ‘The Doctor” Collier, Alvin Cordy Jr., and Earl Walker.

New Found Glory | Sticks and Stones 10th Anniversary | Review

Submitted by Rochelle Shipman on Fri, 12/07/2012 - 8:54 am

Nine years ago, I lived every pop-punker’s dream. I was on my way into my first New Found Glory concert and one of their crew members stopped my cousin, asking her if we wanted to go onstage with the band. We did, of course, and watched NFG perform from bleachers on the stage, in front of the thousands of people at Giant Center.

Bill Staines Soars in New Album, 'Beneath Some Lucky Star'

Submitted by Janie Franz on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 5:15 pm

The only time I ever saw Bill Staines live was several years ago in East Grand Forks, MN. I was eager for him to sing his (for me) signature song, “Roseville Fair.” It was a song my husband at the time had made into his own, creating a tender arrangement of this most romantic song of lasting love. I had never heard the original recording.I was struck by the fact that Bill Staines was left-handed.

Tauk | Spike Hill | Brooklyn, NY | 11/24/12 | Sandy Benefit

Submitted by Shaun Stevens on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 3:05 pm

On Saturday November 24th in Williamsburg, New York a good time was to be had by all. Virtually free to the public, Tauk, a NY-based jam band put together a relief benefit for the communities affected by Super Storm Sandy which took place at the, true to its location, hipster haven bar,  Spike Hill. To enter donations were gladly accepted but not required, all of which went to those dealing with the aftermath of the hurricane.

Head for the Hills | Cervantes | Denver, CO | 12/1/12 | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Thu, 12/06/2012 - 9:06 am

It’s plainly obvious to see how hardworking Colorado acoustic quartet Head for the Hills has been this past year. They played their first main stage appearance at the 39th Telluride Bluegrass Festival, released their first official live album “Head for the Hills Live” and are hard at work assembling their third studio album.

Keller Williams | George's Majestic Lounge | 11/29/12 | Review

Submitted by Michelle Miesse on Tue, 12/04/2012 - 11:04 am

Barefoot and comfortable as in his own kitchen, a slightly bearded (possibly participating in No-shave November…), Keller Williams took the stage at George’s Majestic Lounge. And on such an unusually warm night in late November, the performance was perfect. The show started almost as promptly as I have seen a show in a bar venue start – which was nice.

Archived news