Reviews

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

Strange Arrangment Pre-Thanksgiving in Chicago | Preview

Submitted by June Reedy on Tue, 11/20/2012 - 8:46 am

Dear Strange Arrangement,Your Pre-Thanksgiving day bash is going to be off the hook.  I know this because I’m still toasty from the sweater of love you gifted me from your last Park West show in January.  The sassy sweaty sexy highway has been driving me through 2012.  When I count my Thanksgiving blessings I count you 3 xs! Chicago Farmer! Greensky!

Generationals & Races | Cafe du Nord | San Francisco | Review

Submitted by Jason Chiu on Mon, 11/19/2012 - 1:10 pm

Small venues are a mixed bag. Maybe it’s due to the prevalence of festivals popping up over the land or just the trend of me attending more concerts in larger venues, but smaller venues don’t sound quite as good as they did before. Don’t get me wrong, Cafe du Nord is a wonderful place. As mentioned before, it’s a really charming former speakeasy, but its’ intimacy is a gift and a curse. Tuesday’s Generationals show was a perfect example for why this is so.

Papadosio | Fox Theater | Boulder, CO | 11/15/2012 | Review

Submitted by underwoodschumm on Mon, 11/19/2012 - 10:49 am

When Papadosio took over the Fox Theatre Thursday night and turned it into a hypnotic display of light, sound and video projections, the crowd and band both knew that something special was in store. This was documented at the end of the show when lead guitarist Anthony Thogmartin called Colorado a second home for the band to mass cheers and rooster crows.

B.B. King | Boulder Theater | Boulder, CO | 11/12/2012 | Review

Submitted by Dylan Muhlberg on Mon, 11/19/2012 - 6:43 am

The legend of the Delta Blues is a somber story. Its grandfather died at the age of twenty-seven under debated circumstances. The legacy that Robert Leroy Johnson left Mississippi was a new style of guitar playing and singing that would eventually become the predominant defining form of American roots music. Nearly every style of American-born music can be structurally traced back to blues. Jazz and Rock ‘n’ Roll is blues music, and wouldn’t have been birthed without that foundational backbone.

Junkie XL | Synthesized | New Music Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Sun, 11/18/2012 - 3:31 pm

Few producers can stand the test of time and survive the modern-day music industry like Dutch music producer Tom Holkenborg, better known as Junkie XL. A one-man wrecking machine, Holkenborg has accomplished more in his 15-year career than many musicians could ever fathom. "When I found out in 1986 how my sampler could produce sounds, I knew it was pointless to ever leave the studio," says Holkenborg.

Melody Walker and Jacob Groopman | Freight & Salvage | Review

Submitted by Scott Walker on Sun, 11/18/2012 - 5:56 am
Berkeley's Freight & Salvage Coffeehouse provides a comfortable setting for artists and fans just 1 block from Shattuck Avenue...and all it has to offer. On Friday night, Bay area native Melody Walker and partner Jacob Groopman took the stage in front of a modest crowd who braved the first rains of the winter season.

Days of You | New CD Review

Submitted by Elliot Engebretson on Wed, 11/14/2012 - 2:18 pm

Canadian-based jam band Days Of You is set to release their first album in over a decade, after taking a 12-year hiatus throughout the 2000’s. The band’s upcoming LP release, You Belong Where You Go, marks a triumphant return to the scene for the Canadian pioneers. Mixing elements of rock, blues, jazz, reggae, and folk, on top of improvisational experimentation, Days of You quickly gained success through community radio and word of mouth.

Archived news