Aaron Raitiere makes Grand Ole Opry debut with special guests Bob Weir, The Oak Ridge Boys and Anderson East

Article Contributed by Sacks and Company | Published on Tuesday, May 17, 2022

In celebration of his long-awaited debut album, Single Wide Dreamer, GRAMMY Award-winning singer, songwriter and musician Aaron Raitiere made his Grand Ole Opry debut with surprise special guests Bob Weir, The Oak Ridge Boys and Anderson East.

Produced by Miranda Lambert and East, Single Wide Dreamer is the realization of a long-awaited artistic dream for Raitiere, who is already known for his extensive behind-the-scenes career as a GRAMMY Award-winning songwriter (stream/purchase here).

Released to widespread critical acclaim, Rolling Stone recently highlighted album track “Worst I Ever Had,” as a “Song You Need to Know,” praising, “Aaron Raitiere excels at writing the kind of country songs that blend a biting sense of humor with a little something extra…The Kentucky singer-songwriter brings all of this to the fore on his new solo album Single Wide Dreamer, shuffling through a group of songs that convey empathy and humor alike, in the tradition of John Prine or wordplay master Roger Miller.” Additionally, Nashville Lifestyles declares, “Feeling like a spiritual and artistic student of John Prine, the Kentucky native mixes equal measures dark whimsy, absurdist humor, and crazy-eyed observational wisdom into catchy, three-minute stories, often with a lesson to share,” while Glide declares, “one of the most impressive Americana debuts so far this year” and Americana Highways proclaims, “an impressive debut album…the storytelling is great and the melodies are sure to stick with you.”

In further celebration of the record, Raitiere held a special release party and art show earlier this month at East Nashville’s LabCanna East. The event featured a performance by Raitiere as well as an installment of his own artwork, of which numerous pieces were sold during the show. The collection will remain on display at LabCanna East throughout the month of May.

Initially started four years ago, the album began when Raitiere gave Lambert and East a collection of songs and complete creative control, allowing them to curate the track list, suggest arrangements and add guest vocals. The resulting record, which features friends and collaborators Bob Weir, Dave Cobb, Natalie Hemby, Ashley Monroe, Robert Randolph, Foy Vance and Waylon Payne, is twelve tracks that exemplify Raitiere’s signature observational writing—sometimes reflective, sometimes irreverent, but always inspired by his own experiences.

Raised in Danville, KY, Raitiere is one of Nashville’s most respected songwriters with cuts by Maren Morris, Miranda Lambert, Ashley McBryde, Anderson East, The Oak Ridge Boys, Midland, Shooter Jennings, Brent Cobb, Hayes Carll and many more. Raitiere also wrote A Star Is Born’s “I’ll Never Love Again” with Lady Gaga, Hillary Lindsay and Natalie Hemby, which won Best Song Written for Visual Media at the 62nd Annual GRAMMY Awards.

1. Single Wide Dreamer
2. Everybody Else
3. For The Birds
4. Cold Soup
5. At Least We Don’t Have Any Kids
6. Dear Darlin’
7. Your Daddy Hates Me
8. Worst I Ever Had
9. Can’t Rain All The Time
10. Tell Me Something True
11. You’re Crazy
12. Time Will Fly