Big Head Todd and the Monsters' "New World Arisin" out 11/3

Article Contributed by Sacks and Company | Published on Thursday, September 28, 2017

Colorado band Big Head Todd and the Monsters are set to release their eleventh studio album, New World Arisin’ on November 3 on their Big Records imprint. The first single “Damaged One” is currently at #26 and rising on the AAA Chart. Listen HERE.

The album was written and produced by vocalist/guitarist Todd Park Mohr with original members Rob Squires on bass and Brian Nevin on drums and percussions. Plus, Jeremy Lawton on keyboards, lap and petal steel guitar and backing vocals. It was recorded at E-Town Studios in Boulder, Colorado and mixed by Mark Needham with engineering by James Tuttle.

Mohr explains that the songs were written over a twenty-year period. He describes that “some songs fell into place immediately, while others took many years to materialize. Yet after such a long gestating process for the writing, the recording was completed in just six days.”

Having played Denver’s historic Red Rocks Amphitheater more than nineteen times with recent dates sold out this summer the band is part of the fabric of the Colorado music scene. A full run of fall tour dates will be announced shortly with more details to follow.

The trio of Mohr, Nevin and Squires founded the band in 1986 in Boulder and quickly built a strong reputation in the local club circuit while attending University of Colorado. They formed their own Big Records to release their debut album Another Mayberry. The band became truly established with their platinum selling third LP Sister Sweetly in 1993 with the single “Bittersweet”, which remains a rock radio staple to this day. The band has released music steadily throughout the decades leading to their most recent release 2014’s Black Beehive. They have also released two live albums Live Monsters, Live at the Fillmore and 2015’s Live at Red Rocks 2016.

The band has proudly controlled its own business dealings and marketing from the start, releasing 2007’s All the Love You Need via their fan email list. In 2011, they formed a new project under the name Big Head Blues Club recording two albums under the moniker. The first 100 Years of Robert Johnson celebrates the songs of the late blues great and features legends such as B. B. King, Charlie Musselwhite, Cedric Burnside, David “Honeyboy” Edwards, Hubert Sumlin, Ruthie Forster and Lightin’ Malcolm. Their second LP Way Down Inside: Songs of Willie Dixon is a tribute to Willie Dixon featuring Mud Morganfield, Billy Branch, Ronnie Baker Brooks, and Erica Brown. The album was produced by multiple Grammy winner Chris Goldsmith and Todd Park Mohr. The band has gone on to play shows under the name Big Head Blues Club moniker inviting some of the legends featured on the album to perform with them.

Recently, the band composed the theme song to programs including NCIS: New Orleans and Swamp Wars. Their music has also been included in Contraband, The To Do List, Grudge Match, Garden Party, So You Think You Can Dance, and many more.

New World Arisin’ Track listing
1. Glow
2. New World Arisin’
3. Damaged One
4. Trip
5. Mind
6. Detonator
7. Wipeout Turn
8. Long Coal Train
9. Under Your Wings
10. Room Full of Mirrors

Big Head Todd and the Monsters Tour Dates

September 1 /// Live On The Green Festival /// Nashville, TN
September 17 /// Rock ‘n’ Roll Philadelphia Marathon /// Philadelphia, PA
September 22 /// Greenwich Wine and Food Festival /// Greenwich, CT
September 24 /// Infinity Music Hall /// Hartford, CT
October 7 /// Breckenridge Brewery /// Littleton, CO