BMG to Reissue JOHN LEE HOOKER'S 'The Best Of Friends' ~ Available on Vinyl for the First Time EVER!

Article Contributed by MAD Ink PR | Published on Monday, June 10, 2024

Originally released in 1998, The Best of Friends marks a significant milestone in the illustrious career of blues legend John Lee Hooker. This seminal album highlights Hooker's late-career collaborations with an array of esteemed musicians including Eric Clapton, Ry Cooder, Carlos Santana, Van Morrison, and Bonnie Raitt. Twenty-five years later, the album remains a vivid testament to Hooker's enduring vitality and the deep respect he commanded from the musical community. Now, for the first time, The Best of Friends will be available on 2LP vinyl and reissued on CD starting July 12, 2024, providing both longtime fans and new listeners with an ideal entry point to explore Hooker's influential work from the 1980s and 1990s. The reissue includes an exclusive edition available through Vinyl Me Please, featuring a striking red and black marble vinyl limited to 750 units.  All formats include the Bonus Track “Up and Down” featuring Johnnie Johnson on piano.    

The Best of Friends not only celebrates the timelessness of Hooker's music but also his remarkable ability to bridge generations of blues enthusiasts. John Lee Hooker, known for his deep, resonant voice and hypnotic guitar riffs, carved a unique niche in the blues genre. Throughout his career, spanning over six decades, Hooker's influence extended beyond his solo works, earning him a revered place in music history. His collaborations on The Best of Friends encapsulate his extraordinary ability to connect with fellow musicians and audiences alike, solidifying his legacy as one of the greatest blues artists of all time.

The Best of Friends Tracklist:
1. Boogie Chillen – with Eric Clapton
2. This Is Hip – with Ry Cooder
3. The Healer – with Carlos Santana
4. I Cover the Waterfront – with Van Morrison & Booker T. Jones
5. Boom Boom – with Jimmie Vaughan
6. I’m in the Mood – with Bonnie Raitt
7. Burnin’ Hell – with Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite
8. Tupelo
9. Baby Lee – with Robert Cray
10. Dimples – with Los Lobos
11. Chill Out (Things Gonna Change) – with Carlos Santana
12. Big Legs, Tight Skirt – with Ry Cooder & Ike Turner
13. Don’t Look Back – with Van Morrison & Charles Brown
14. Up and Down – with Johnnie Johnson (Bonus Track)