New UK Band KillerStar, With Bowie Collaborators, Today Unveil 2nd Single/Video “Falling Through”

Article Contributed by SRO | Published on Friday, November 3, 2023

As unveiled on their debut single “Should’ve Known Better,” Rob Fleming and James Sedge’s new band KillerStar weaves modernist touches into the classic harmonies and exemplary musicianship of classic rock and art-rock from the ‘70s. And they’ve joined forces team of musicians known for their work with David Bowie: Mike Garson on piano, Earl Slick and Mark Plati on guitar, Gail Ann Dorsey and Tim Lefebvre on bass, Emm Gryner on backing vocals, and Donny McCaslin on saxophone.

Today (November 3), KillerStar take another step towards the March 1 release of their self-titled debut album by sharing the video for their second single “Falling Through.” It’s an ambitious, audacious adventure of a track, a song of two halves which recalls Pink Floyd in the way that it begins as a ballad before taking off on a journey into the cosmos via a soaring saxophone solo from Donny McCaslin (a contributor to Bowie’s Blackstar album). Watch the imagery-rich video HERE and listen to the song, out November 3, HERE.

Rob Fleming says, “‘Falling Through’ is about a moment in time and finding tranquility and taking in the surroundings, the ocean, sky, sun. The song builds and takes a left turn with Donny McCaslin providing soaring saxophone, full of emotion.”

This version of “Falling Through” is a different version to the one that will feature on KillerStar’s debut album, having been remixed as an alternative version by Mark Plati, one of Bowie’s key collaborators on records such as Earthling, Reality, and Heathen.

Rob Fleming (vocals, guitars, synths) and James Sedge (drums) formed KillerStar to express their love of timeless music ranging from the primeval rock n’ roll of the early 1970s to contemporary indie. The array of Bowie collaborators arose partly by design, but mostly by chance. Having recorded a set of demos, Rob asked Emm Gryner to contribute vocals, who, in turn, suggested he should contact Earl Slick. Step-by-step, one Bowie alumni led to another, resulting in Bowie’s spirit sparkling throughout KillerStar’s cocktail of earthy rock and nightclub glamour. The album was produced by Rob and James, mixed by Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers), with digital mastering by Joe La Porta and vinyl mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios.

KillerStar’s debut album is available to pre-order HERE. It will be released on CD, black vinyl, a limited edition 180-gram gold vinyl pressing, and digital formats.

KillerStar will play a special UK album launch show at London’s 100 Club on March 16th. Rob and James will be joined by three of the key musicians on the album in the shape of Earl Slick (guitar), Mark Plati (bass) and Emm Gryner (backing vocals), and the line-up will be completed by keyboardist Dom Beken (Nick Mason’s Saucerful of Secrets, The Orb). Tickets are available HERE.