OZZY OSBOURNE’s ‘Diary Of A Madman’ 40th Anniversary Expanded Digital Edition Out Today; New Video For “Flying High Again”

Article Contributed by SRO | Published on Friday, November 5, 2021

With OZZY OSBOURNE’s DIARY OF A MADMAN celebrating its 40th anniversary this week, a variety of video clips have been released to commemorate the album. These include a new video for “Flying High Again,” (created from exclusive images from Ross Halfin’s newly released Randy Rhoads book), along with live versions of “Over the Mountain,” “Flying High Again,” and “Believer.” In addition, an exclusive blue swirl DIARY OF A MADMAN vinyl will be available November 12 via Walmart (in the U.S. only) as part of their annual Black Friday Vinyl. Click here to pre-order.

The updated digital release of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter’s 1981 DIARY OF A MADMAN album is available today (November 5) via all digital platforms and includes two live tracks previously unreleased digitally, including a live version of his Mainstream Rock Top Five hit “Flying High Again.” Listen here.

DIARY OF A MADMAN is OZZY’s second studio release and the last album to feature 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Famer guitarist Randy Rhoads. The multi-platinum release (with five million albums sold worldwide) included the #2 Mainstream Rock track "Flying High Again." The album was listed at #15 on Rolling Stone’s 2017 list of "100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time." Kory Grow noted, "A year after proving he was still a vital musical force on his first post–Black Sabbath solo LP, 1980’s Blizzard of Ozz, Ozzy Osbourne demonstrated it wasn’t a one-time fluke with an album of poppy and gothic anthems like ‘Flying High Again’ and the almost classical closing title track. Guitarist Randy Rhoads, who died in a plane crash while touring for Diary in 1982, had already proven himself a virtuoso on Blizzard; here, he worked even harder to find the rare nexus between showboat chops and clever songwriting..."

THE DIARY OF A MADMAN 40th Anniversary Expanded Digital Edition track list is as follows:

1.  Over the Mountain
2.  Flying High Again
3.  You Can’t Kill Rock and Roll
4.  Believer
5.  Little Dolls
6.  Tonight
7.  S.A.T.O.
8.  Diary of a Madman
9.  Believer (live)*
10. Flying High Again (live)*
*previously unavailable digitally