Ronnie Penque to release "Family Business" on 8/30

Article Contributed by Ronnie Penque Band | Published on Sunday, August 25, 2019

Ronnie Penque will release his second studio album titled "Family Business". The album features 9 new songs written and produced by Penque including the hit tune "Wookie Kids". Family Business is an eclectic collection of cool songs featuring extended jams, smooth harmonies, and catchy hooks. It’s a classic rock album with cross over country flare. Included in the album are a couple of songs with The New Riders of The Purple Sage. Buddy Cage’s pedal steel guitar drives through you as Penque and crew rock these tunes. Family Business also offers up a fresh version of "The Fugitive" made famous by Merle Haggard. Penque’s “Emma Lynn” is a country hit while “Shave that Rock” is a swampy blues classic that pulls you in. The song “Wondering” is a powerful tune in the vein of Counting Crows or Van Morrison. David Nelson and Buddy Cage make guest appearances on the record as well as the other NRPS guys, Falazarano and Markowski.

The album also features many artists in Penques world including, Mark Karan, Mookie Siegel, Clay Cassell, James Saluzzi, Mike Flynn, Chris Penque, Jeff Pearlman, Katie Pearlman, Drave Taylor, David Nelson, Buddy Cage, Michael Falzarano, Johnny Markowski, Mark Diomede, Kenny Harten, Arnie Brown, Sandy Mack, and Kevin Johnson.

Ronnie Penque is best known for his long career with The New Riders of the Purple Sage. When not touring with the New Riders, Penque spends his time working in various other music projects including Panama Dead, a band dedicated to the music of The New Riders. Ronnie also plays shows with his band The Ronnie Penque Band and many other musicians. In recent years, The New Riders have recorded two CDs of new material (“Where I Come From” and “17 Pine Avenue”) some of which was co-written with Robert Hunter, famed lyricist for the Grateful Dead.  Original Penque compositions appear on these releases. On November 2, 2010 Penque released his solo debut album "Only Road Home". The album features 11 songs written and produced by Penque. In early 2011 Only Road Home made it to the top of the college radio charts in the Jam Band category. It climbed to number one in February 2011.