Ryan Hamilton and The Harlequin Ghosts Release Lyric Video for New Single

Article Contributed by Press Here Publicity | Published on Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Texas and U.K.-based rockers Ryan Hamilton and The Harlequin Ghosts have released the lyric video for their new song "Far Cry," the latest track off their debut album, This Is The Sound, due out Friday, May 31st via Steven Van Zandt's label, Wicked Cool Records. "Far Cry" is a nostalgia-inducing classic rock-style track about being a "far cry" away from who you imagined yourself to be. PRESS HERE to listen to the song on all DSPs and PRESS HERE to watch the lyric video, which premiered with Pure Grain Audio today.

"I think the sentiment of this song is something everyone can relate to," shares Hamilton. "As kids, we have these crazy, far-fetched ideas about what we wanna be when we grow up...or maybe, later down the road, you thought you found 'the one' in High School, only to find out you don't really know what the hell love even is...yet. Haha! We all grow up and grow into what life delivers. The trick, if you ask me, is not settling, but at the same time finding happiness in the hand you're dealt."

"Far Cry" follows the band's previously released tracks off the forthcoming album "Get Down" and "Mamacita," the latter of which is currently thriving on radio across the U.K.. All 12 new songs on This Is The Sound, recorded in the U.K. last year, find Ryan and the band on familiar musical footing, staying true to an aesthetic that's a modern distillation of their classic influences. PRESS HERE to pre-order This Is The Sound, which is being released via Wicked Cool Records in partnership with The Orchard. See below for full tracklisting.

Hamilton, the group's only American, and the U.K.-based Ghosts - core members Mickey Richards (drums) and Rob Lane (bass) along with Carol Hodge (keyboards and backing vocals) and Dave Winkler (lead guitar), who round-out the lineup when they perform as a five-piece - recently wrapped a string of U.S. tour dates supporting Roger Clyne & The Peacemakers, giving fans across the country an early chance to experience the band's new music.

After stints in the bands People On Vacation (with Bowling For Soup's Jaret Reddick and Ghosts members Richards and Lane) and Smile Smile, this current phase of Ryan's career began with a late 2016 single called "Fuck You Brain," which he wrote and recorded with friend Ginger Wildheart of the legendary U.K. hard rock band The Wildhearts. The melodically rocking track caught the attention of Wicked Cool honcho Steven Van Zandt, who added it to his Underground Garage playlist, along with half the songs from Ryan Hamilton and The Traitors' 2017 album The Devil's In The Detail, the first album from the band prior to the name change. Ryan's classic rock influences - among them The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, David Bowie - combined with a bit of country music from growing up in a small town just outside of Fort Worth, Texas laid the foundation on which Ryan Hamilton and The Harlequin Ghosts formed.


1. "Mamacita"

2. "Bottoms Up (Here's To Goodbye)"

3. "Feels Like Falling In Love"

4. "Get Down"

5. "Far Cry"

6. "All Fall Down"

7. "This Is The Sound"

8. "Let You Go"

9. "So Gone"

10. "Girl Vs. Monster"

11. "Same Page"

12. "Won't Stop Now"