Satsang Taps Trevor Hall for "Folk-Pop Anthem," This Place

Article Contributed by | Published on Thursday, March 11, 2021

Satsang has just unveiled a new music video for “This Place,” the second single from their upcoming album ‘All. Right. Now.’ (6/4). Featuring singer/songwriter Trevor Hall, “This Place” forms the emotional core of the band’s new album, in which frontman Drew McManus is found reconnecting with his Montana roots and exploring a whole new palette of sounds, inspired by the wide-open fields and soaring mountains of their home state. While the album is rooted in the land, “This Place” looks beyond the physical to a more spiritual definition of home. “This song is about that ethereal place that we can tap into through music,” explains McManus. “It's not here or there - it's past that. I believe it's tapping into the place we come from before birth and return to after our time here. The only brother I would have had sing on something this deep is Trevor. He is a true sage. I hope you enjoy this offering from us and Trevor.”

“This Place” follows the release of the album’s “warm, inviting” title track, which offered the first glimpse of Satsang’s lush, organic new collection, fueled by acoustic guitars, fiddle, and pedal steel (American Songwriter). Written and recorded during an extended hiatus from the road, ‘All. Right. Now.’ is broad and spacious, drawing on classic country and modern Americana. It’s a warm, inviting record that hints at everything from Uncle Tupelo and The Jayhawks to Gregory Alan Isakov and The Head and the Heart.

Drew McManus

Satsang's soulful, reggae-infused folk-rock brought their previous work to #1 on the Billboard's Reggae Chart and saw them sell out concerts around the country, sharing stages with the likes of Michael Franti & Spearhead and Nahko and Medicine for the People as they worked their way up from bars and clubs to massive festivals. It was a stunning rise for McManus, who spent years distancing himself from a troubled upbringing marked by cycles of addiction, violence, and abuse. He came to music as part of his own recovery from addiction, when a month-long backpacking trip in the Himalayas inspired him to share his journey through song and poetry. He ultimately found peace amid family in the Beartooth Mountains of Montana, an oasis that allows him a warm hearth to recharge from the rigors of the road. “Montana isn’t just where I live,” says McManus. “It’s my heart and soul."

Inspired by the land and by his role as a father, ‘All. Right. Now.’ is a joyful, rustic collection all about letting go and living in the moment. McManus produced the album himself, and while the songs are certainly honest and deeply personal, they’re written in a spiritual language that taps into something far more universal; something inherent in the human condition that binds us as brothers and sisters on a shared journey to find our place in this world. Grounding himself in a dedicated mixed-martial-arts practice, McManus sees no inherent contradiction between fighting and music, which both require patience, endurance, and a willingness to immerse yourself completely into practice. As a father and a husband, McManus is more committed than ever to taking care of his mind, body, and soul and to making the most of his limited time.

“When you’re dealt a tough hand, you can either get bitter or you can get better,” says McManus. “You can blame your upbringing for everything and complain about what happened to you, or you can choose to believe that everything happened for you, to step into your power and become the person you want to be.” In Montana, that’s precisely what McManus has done, turning his dreams into reality in a place that, some days, feels more like Heaven than Earth. “My wife, my kids, Montana, they’re all one thing to me now,” says McManus. “They’re home.”

Stay tuned for additional updates.

All. Right. Now. – out June 4th
1. From And I Go
2. All. Right. Now.
3. Answer Was Yes
4. This Place (ft. Trevor Hall)
5. I’m The One
6. Further This Goes
7. Malachi
8. Back Around (ft. G. Love)
9. I’ll Try
10. Love
11. To Last