Sophie B. Hawkins Announces New Album 'Free Myself' Out 3/24

Article Contributed by Press Here Publicity | Published on Sunday, February 19, 2023

GRAMMY-nominated, platinum-selling artist, and prolific songwriter Sophie B. Hawkins has announced her brand new, highly-anticipated seventh studio album, Free Myself, which will be released on March 24th via Lightyear Entertainment. PRESS HERE to pre-save the album. Featuring some of her most emotionally powerful material to date, the album immediately affirms Sophie B. Hawkins as a truly essential artist, capable of instilling each listener with the strength and courage needed to follow their own intuition. The announcement comes alongside the release of Sophie’s official music video for her anti-Valentine single from the album, “Better Off Without You.” PRESS HERE to watch the video, directed by Nigel Dick (Britney Spears’ “... Baby One More Time”, “Oops!... I Did It Again”, Cher’s “Believe”), which showcases the next level chemistry Sophie and her band have, and the magic they create when performing together in the studio. The moody and soaring song explores betrayal and the transformative triumph of radical self-love and, ultimately, forgiveness as Sophie tells her ex, “I hope you heal your heart.” Sophie encourages listeners to sing it loud and proud as an enduring anti-Valentine’s Day anthem.

Says Sophie of the track: “I used to think ‘Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover,’ but now I realize I’m ‘Better Off Without You.’”

Free Myself expands on the colorful eclecticism that’s always permeated Sophie’s music, encompassing everything from folk to soul to Brill Building pop. As she reflects on what has been a trailblazing, revolutionary career, Free Myself sees her embarking on a new creative chapter of independence and positivity. Full track listing is below.

Sophie will be celebrating the release of the album with a series of intimate album release shows on the East Coast beginning on release day and making stops in New York City, Philadelphia, Washington D.C. and more. PRESS HERE for tickets and more information, and the full routing can be found below.

“Better Off Without You” follows the single that kicked off Sophie’s new era, “Love Yourself,” a soul-stirring piece of symphonic pop about confidence and the way we talk about ourselves, reframing our inner dialogue to change patterns and bring healing. It’s an exciting new creative chapter for the legendary artist whose indelible hit songs such as “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” and “As I Lay Me Down” have been featured in cultural touchstone TV shows and films (from recent hits Stranger Things, Euphoria, Ozark, and PEN15, to landmark series Beverly Hills, 90210, Dawson’s Creek, The L Word and more) and who has always been ahead of her time with her steadfast activism supporting such causes as environmental protection, animal rights and LGBTQ equality; using her songwriting and platform for positive change with the forward-thinking, pioneering outlook she has championed all along.

Sophie’s ever-evolving career has also included releasing six widely beloved albums, breaking chart records with her smash hits, four worldwide singles from Whaler and a starring role as Janis Joplin in the critically acclaimed musical Room105.

A dynamic creative force, Sophie has always been fully involved in every aspect of the production of her records, from background vocals and playing her own instruments as a multi-instrumentalist, to engineering and production of her albums. She has proved to be an enduring artist with a fierce commitment to artistic integrity while both constantly evolving and remaining steadfastly true to her own authentic history and experience which connects her to her fans at the very deepest levels.

Free Myself Track Listing
1. Love Yourself
2. Better Off Without You
3. Green Eyes
4. Free Myself
5. Consume Me In Your Fire
6. Hungered For Love
7. Fairy Tales
8. Angel In Disguise
9. I’m Tired Of Taking Care Of You
10. You Are My Balloon
Sophie B. Hawkins Spring 2023 Tour Dates
March 24 - Portsmouth, NH - Jimmy's Jazz & Blues Club
March 25 - Woodstock, NY - Colony
March 28 - Philadelphia, PA - World Cafe Live
March 29 - New York City, NY - City Winery
March 30 - Annapolis, MD - Ram's Head On Stage
March 31 - Fairfield, CT - StageOne
April 1 - Washington DC - The Hamilton