The Band of Heathens Nominated for Americana Honor/Award

The guys in the Band of Heathens are fond of saying they became a unit by accident. But one might argue that a kind of destiny was involved in the merger of singer/songwriters/multi-instrumentalists Ed Jurdi, Gordy Quist and Colin Brooks with bassist Seth Whitney and drummer John Chipman, all of whom came from various solo careers and groups. Their new album, One Foot in the Ether, offers irrefutable evidence that they were meant to be together — and have evolved into a solid entity worthy of the comparisons they receive to the Black Crowes, the Band and Little Feat.

Maverick magazine called One Foot in the Ether album “a quality album from a quality group,” adding, “If you haven’t caught up with this group, why not?” The Wall Street Journal reviewer pronounced their live show at SXSW 2009 the “best set I came across during my five nights in town.” Blurt noted: “An album that echoes their down-home resolve, One Foot in the Ether finds them putting their best foot forward.”

The Americana Honors & Awards ceremony will be held Thursday, September 9 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Other nominees in the “Best Duo or Group” category include the Avett Brothers, Carolina Chocolate Drops and the Dave Rawlings Machine.

According to band member Gordy Quist, “We're really pleased to be nominated for this award by the Americana Music Association and to be named along with such amazing artists.  The AMA has supported us from the very start and it's a real honor to be embraced by the Americana community."

SUMMER U.S. TOUR DATES

Fri., May 14  WICHITA FALLS, TX  Iron Horse Pub

Sat., May 15  AMARILLO, TX  Homer’s Backyard Ball

Sun., May 16  NEW BRAUNFELS, TX  Gruene Hall

Thurs., May 20  BELTON, TX  Schoepf’s Backyard

Fri., May 21  AUSTIN, TX  Antone’s

Sat., May 22   GREENVILLE, TX  Municipal Auditorium

Fri., May 28  NEW BRAUNFELS, TX  Whitewater Amphitheatre

Sat., May 29  HOUSTON, TX  McGonigel’s Mucky Duck

Thurs., June 3  OZARK, AR  Wakarusa Music & Camping Festival

Fri., June 4  ARLINGTON, TX  Levitt Pavillion

Thurs., June 10  NEW BRAUNFELS, TX  Whitewater Amphitheatre

Fri., June 11  KERRVILLE, TX  Kerrville Folk Festival

Fri., June 18  LAKE CONROE, TX  TBA Free Music Series

Wed., June 23  FORT WORTH, TX  Ranch Radio Free TX Music Series

Thurs., June 24  LITTLE ROCK, AR  Sticky Fingerz

Fri., June 25  FORT SMITH, AR  Riverfront Blues Festival, Harry E. Kelley Riverfront Park

Sat., June 26  OKLAHOMA CITY, OK  Wormy Dog Saloon

Sun., June 27  PLANO, TX  Love and War in Texas

Thurs., July 1  AUSTIN, TX  Unplugged at the Grove

Fri., July 2  SEGUIN, TX  Freedom Fiesta

Sat., July 3  FULTON, TX  Charlie Robinson Bay Bash

Sun., July 4  NEW BRAUNFELS, TX  Whitewater Amphitheatre

Fri., July 9  FREDERICKSBURG, TX  Crossroads Saloon

Sat., July 10  EL CAMPO, TX  Greek Brothers Oyster Bar and Grill

Fri., July 23  TELLURIDE, CO  Telluride Americana Music Weekend

Thurs., July 29  DRIGGS, ID  Main Street Park

Fri., July 30  KETCHUM, ID  Whiskey Jacques

  • Latest
  • Popular
  • Tags
  • Comments
The Grateful Dead's 50th anniversary celebration just got a...
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 18:54
Some of the biggest names in Bluegrass will join some of its...
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 15:32
You know how our dads will turn us green with envy while cas...
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 13:34
Phantogram’s first song at their 5:00 slot on ACL’s Miller L...
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 13:26
...
I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 weeks 6 days ago
Legend Valley is only 50 miles from home,I'm gonna have to catch the Jubilee one of t...
4 months 4 days ago
For more about Thomas Merton check out this site written by one of his studens:   mer...
5 months 2 weeks ago
Diana Krall concert is coming soon in Valley Performing Arts Center,North ridge on Ap...
7 months 1 week ago