Dark Star Orchestra Announces New Bassist for Permanent Role

"adimage1"
"adimage2"

LATEST ARTICLES

Submitted by Dark Star Orchestra on Fri, 10/11/2013 - 10:46 am

Following the Spring departure of longtime bassist, Kevin Rosen, the Chicago-formed Dark Star Orchestra offered temporary spots to a handful of talented performers. Today, the band announces the formal, permanent bassist role goes to Skip Vangelas who is currently on tour with the band. Vangelas previously played with Dark Star Orchestra guitarist/vocalist Rob Eaton in the band Border Legion and was briefly in DSO himself in 2001.In addition to the bassist announcement, Dark Star Orchestra this week released numerous live, soundboard recordings of the band mastered by Rob Eaton on the band’s Nugs.net / LiveDownloads.com page here. DSO is offering a streaming version of their 17-minute plus take on ‘Turn On Your Lovelight’ recorded May 26, 2013 at the 2nd Annual Dark Star Jubilee Festival that took place at Legend Valley over Memorial Day weekend. The ‘Lovelight’ recording can be found here.As the band performs their 2250th performance this weekend at a two-night stand at San Francisco’s The Fillmore, DSO’s show count lays less than 100 shows away from eclipsing the approximately 2318 shows that the original Grateful Dead did over 30 years. Their Fall Tour West continues throughout California before wrapping up with a three-night stand at the Fox Theatre in Boulder, CO.Tour Dates:Fri 10/11/13                   San Francisco, CA        The Fillmore             Sat 10/12/13                  San Francisco, CA        The Fillmore             Mon 10/14/13                San Luis Obispo, CA     Performing Arts Center         Tue 10/15/13                 Las Vegas, NV  Hard Rock Cafe                   Thu 10/17/13                 Salt Lake City, UT          The Depot                Fri 10/18/13                   Boulder, CO      Fox Theatre              Sat 10/19/13                  Boulder, CO      Fox Theatre              Sun 10/20/13                 Boulder, CO      Fox Theatre              Wed 11/13/13                Buffalo, NY       The Town Ballroom                Thu 11/14/13                 Toronto, ON      The Danforth Music Hall        Fri 11/15/13                   Jamestown, NY Reg Lenna Civic Center         Sat 11/16/13                  Albany, NY       Palace Theatre         Mon 11/18/13                South Burlington, VT     Higher Ground          Tue 11/19/13                 South Burlington, VT     Higher Ground          Thu 11/21/13                 Portland, ME     State Theatre            Fri 11/22/13                   Wallingford, CT Toyota Presents The Oakdale Theatre            Sat 11/23/13                  Northampton, MA          Calvin Theater          Sun 11/24/13                 Concord, NH     Chubb Theatre          Tue 11/26/13                 Syracuse, NY    Palace Theatre         Wed 11/27/13                Jim Thorpe, PA Penn's Peak             Fri 11/29/13                   New York, NY   Best Buy Theater                  Sat 11/30/13                  New York, NY   Best Buy Theater                   Sun 12/01/13                 Tarrytown, NY   The Tarrytown Music Hall                  Mon 12/02/13                Tarrytown, NY   The Tarrytown Music Hall                  Wed 12/04/13                State College, PA          State Theatre            Thu 12/05/13                 Charlottesville, VA         Jefferson Theater                 Fri 12/06/13                   Washington, DC            9:30 Club                 Sat 12/07/13                  Washington, DC            9:30 Club                 Sat 12/28/13                  Richmond, VA   The National             Sun 12/29/13                 Philadelphia, PA            Electric Factory        Mon 12/30/13                Huntington, NY  The Paramount         Tue 12/31/13                 Huntington, NY  The Paramount