decker. To Release Live Album 'Greetings All Ye Playful Prisoners of Spacetime

Article Contributed by The Royal Pota… | Published on Wednesday, August 21, 2019

An evening with decker. is a rock 'n' roll concert, a traveling salvation show and a healthy dose of desert psychedelia. It's designed to move souls, to leave its grooves on listeners, to elevate the collective consciousness of the audience through the music and the words of the lead visionary himself, Brandon Decker. This is what his following has come to expect of him—part frontman, part preacher. Though there is no religion being spoken of, there is a gospel according to decker. That gospel is love and forgiveness and transcendence and it's all there in a nightly prayer. And thus the decker. concert experience was documented at Last Exit Live in Phoenix this past May. The result, 'Greetings All Ye Playful Prisoners of Spacetime,' is now set for release on October 25 via Royal Potato Family.

To set the scene, it was a long and beautiful night, one of those rare occasions in Phoenix, Arizona where the weather was perfection, the wind had no direction and the sky was open wide for all to step inside and share a transcendent time with a band whose reputation for such precedes them. The music is a swirling combination of original material spanning decker.'s decade long existence paired with re-imagined cover material retrofitted to the band's inimitable sound. Often the lines between the two are blurred and you get lost in the cosmic whirl of it all, engulfed in the sounds which propel the evening.

decker.'s treatment of The Stooges' classic "I Wanna Be Your Dog" (listen/share) serves as one of the more electric moments of what was a nearly three hour set, intensely carried by Amber Johnson's right hand on driving, hypnotic keys. Much of the evening's material is comprised of last year's album, 'Born To Wake Up,' and 2016's 'Snake River Blues'—the two records that define the current sound of the band, and of the visions inside Brandon Decker's mind. There were also nods to the classic decker. album 'Patsy,' but those almost seem like nostalgia, in consideration of the  raw soul power and spiritual depth presented in the likes of decker.'s more recent material, like "Burnin Grass" or "The Holy Ghost."

The entire band is found on point backing Brandon's every move. Over the years, decker. has been an ever evolving cast of dedicated musicians spinning in orbit around his vision. Beyond the longtime musical cornerstone of pianist Amber Johsnon, is Meliza Jackson, who commanded the crowd, swinging her howling guitar, fresh out of the ER that evening and never sounding better. Veteran collaborator Andrew Bates provided the backbone as the sure and steady bassman, working in perfect rhythm and time with drummer Joel Knight. Completing the cast was back-up vocals from long-time confidante Dante LoPresti of Sedona and new-found decker. compatriot, Oakland, CA songstress Chelsea Coleman. The band was tight when the moment demanded precision and unresteained when the cosmic vibes allowed them to open up to some endless, intoxicating mad joy and altogether just right for everyone in attendence that night.

Wherever decker. performs they conjure a scene, a night, a spectacle as beautiful and cosmic as this. The evening is captured here for all to appreciate, to replicate in their mind's eye, if only as a shadow of the celebratory time that was had by all who experienced it in person. Witness here the decker. traveling salvation show, less sweaty at home on record than in person, but equally elevating. Enjoy, with your heart and your mind and your soul wide open.

'Greetings All Ye Playful Prisoners of Spacetime'
Track Listing

1. "Greetings All Ye Playful Prisoners of Spacetime"
2. "Burnin Grass"
3. "The Holy Ghost"
4. "The Garden"
5. "The Phantom"
6. "Spades"
7. "The Saint"
8. "Snake River Blues"
9. "I Wanna Be Your Dog"
10. "Cellars"
11. "Invocation"
12. "Awake"
13. "State Trooper"
14. "Song for Cohen"
15. "Famous Blue Raincoat"
16. "Mexico"
17. "Down By The Water"
18. "Backwash"

decker. 'Greetings All Ye Playful Prisoners Of Spacetime'
is available Oct. 25 via RPF