Nils Lofgren, Graham Parker, Richard Barone, Elliott Murphy and more featured on 'Willie Nile Uncovered (Celebrating 40 Years of Music)

Article Contributed by conqueroo | Published on Friday, June 19, 2020

Paradiddle Records announces the release of Willie Nile Uncovered (Celebrating 40 Years of Music) on August 21, 2020. This two-CD collection features 26 songs from the New York rocker’s entire recording history performed by an array of both veteran and emerging artists, each putting their unique stamp on his songs.

The set celebrates the brilliant songwriting of one of rock ’n’ roll’s unsung heroes, an artist whose diehard fan base has included Bono, Bruce Springsteen, Pete Townshend, Lou Reed, Lucinda Williams, Jim Jarmusch, and Little Steven.

Paying tribute to Nile on Uncovered are Nils Lofgren, Graham Parker, Richard Barone, Richard Shindell, Elliott Murphy, John Gorka, Slaid Cleaves, James Maddock, Dan Bern, Kenny White, Rod Picott, Jen Chapin, Caroline Doctorow, Emily Duff, and Pete Mancini, among others, interpreting Willie’s songs in a range of styles -— rock, Americana, country, roots, folk and more.

Nile’s album New York at Night was released this past May 15. An earlier album, also a paean to New York, The Streets of New York was hailed as “a platter for the ages” by Uncut magazine. Rolling Stone listed The Innocent Ones as one of the “Top Ten Best Under-the-Radar Albums of 2011,” and BBC Radio called it “THE rock ’n’ roll album of the year.”

“I’m humbled and deeply grateful to all the artists involved in this project for taking the time to record such beautiful versions of these songs,” says Nile. “When I first heard there was going to be a tribute album I was a little embarrassed as I don’t feel I’m any more deserving than anyone else for an album like this but after a few glasses of red wine and hearing the album I was elated. It was startling to hear such unique, different and poignant interpretations of my songs. Heartfelt thanks to all involved for making this songwriter’s journey through the back roads of a soul more than worth the effort.”

Track Listing: 

1              Hell Yeah   Emily Duff             

2              When Levon Sings  Quarter Horse 

3              American Ride   Gene Casey       

4              Vagabond Moon   Kenny White      

5              Les Champs Elysees   Elliott Murphy  

6              She's Got My Heart   James Maddock             

7              History 101     Iridesense          

8              Life on Bleeker St   Dan Bern            

9              Streets of New York  Richard Barone

10           On Some Rainy Day   The Four Amigos           

11           The Day I Saw Bo Diddley…   Leland Sundries                  

12           That's The Reason     XL Kings               

13           One Guitar    Graham Parker                                                                                                         

14           All God's Children    Nils Lofgren        

15           Lonesome Dark-Eyed Beauty   Caroline Doctorow            

16           I Don't Do Crazy Anymore   John Gorka        

17           Sideways Beautiful    Slaid Cleaves   

18           Lookin For Someone  Rod Picott           

19           The Crossing   Jen Chapin        

20           When One Stands   Henroy Vassell & Friends             

21           Everybody Needs a Hammer  Annie Mark       

22           Asking Annie Out    Pete Mancini     

23           When the Lights Go out on Broadway   Lucy Kaplansky        

24           The Road to Calvary  Richard Shindell             

25           House of Thousand Guitars  Allen Santoriello

26           One Guitar Mon'   Johnny Pisano