Chris Kasper To Release 'Sunlight In An Empty Room' On May 10 / First Single "Shuffle On Through" Out Now

Article Contributed by The Royal Pota… | Published on Tuesday, March 19, 2024

Philadelphia singer/songwriter Chris Kasper is set to release his seventh studio album, Sunlight In An Empty Room, on May 10 via Royal Potato Family. Produced by Jano Rix and recorded analog at The Studio Nashville, Kasper presents eleven songs that engage the listener like an old friend stopping by to sit on the front porch and ponder the complexities of life. It is alive with the spirit of 1970s' songwriters like like Bobby Charles, Lowell George, and Neil Young, while also drawing inspiration from the artwork of Edward Hopper and Andrew Wyeth, embodying the musical essence of illuminating the small worlds within a larger space and focusing on the bittersweet beauty of simplicity often lost in grandiose landscapes.

The album's first single “Shuffle On Through” is out today on all streaming platforms (listen here). It's a dreamy number which delivers a poignant reminder that every ascent is met with a descent, and growth often requires this dichotomy to emerge anew. "The song embraces the idea that life's like a dance—sometimes you gotta step back, sidestep, and shimmy through the challenges to find your groove," says Kasper. "While we often believe we must conquer the big stuff head-on to become the best version of ourselves, this song is considers the idea that we should fix the small stuff first."

The inspiration for Kasper to write and record Sunlight In An Empty Room was sparked by a mantra he’d heard urging individuals to "do something that scares you." Kasper resonated with it as a challenge to let his guard down, be vulnerable, get out of his comfort zone and let a new type of record-making venture take shape. He reached out to accomplished engineer/bass player Brook Sutton, and drummer/ musician extraordinaire, Jano Rix (both recognized for their work with The Wood Brothers), to set aside a long weekend at their Nashville studio. With the final addition of musician JP Ruggieri—sought out for his distinctive guitar work—Kasper went to Nashville without demos or finished lyrics to record live-to-tape, with a band he never worked with before. Thus, "do something that scares you."

Drawing upon his prolific two-decade career as a songwriter, Kasper and his handpicked team sought to capture the elusive "lightning in a bottle" essence that resonates within his favorite recordings. The result? An impressive collection of eleven songs with a refreshingly real, exposed, and open sound.

Sunlight in an Empty Room traverses the Americana, country blues, indie folk and vintage rock spectrums, blurring the lines between genres. With the rhythmic foundations laid by Brook Sutton's funky bass syncopation, JP Ruggieri’s minimalist guitar crunch, and Jano Rix's captivating rhythms, the album is further enriched by guest appearances from Oliver Wood (“Getting Right”) and G. Love (“Ain’t it a Shame”).

Taken in its totality, Sunlight In An Empty Room stands as a testament to Chris Kasper's evolution into a no-nonsense songwriter. Each of its eleven tracks encapsulate a viewpoint of hard-earned wisdom, both musically and lyrically, affirming Kasper's unwavering commitment to authentic and timeless musical expression.

Chris Kasper
Sunlight In An Empty Room

1. Cold Cold World
2. Getting Right (w/ Oliver Wood)
3. The Only Ones
4. Shuffle On Through
5. Cry Me A Creek
6. Books From The Jailhouse
7. It's Not Me, It's You
8. Summer In The City
9. Ain't It A Shame (w/ G. Love)
10. When It's Gone
11. The Hotel Song

Available May 10 on Vinyl, CD & Digital via Royal Potato Family
Pre-Order / Pre-Save Here

Tour Dates

5/16 - Decatur, GA - Eddies Attic
5/19 - Nashville, TN - The Basement
5/21 - Asheville NC - The Grey Eagle
5/22 - Raleigh NC - The Pour House
6/9 - Wayne, PA - 118 North
6/15 - Cumberland MD - 1812 Brewery