Cole Gallagher Announces Debut EP The Confluence Out August 4

Article Contributed by Missing Piece Group | Published on Friday, June 2, 2023

Today, Los Angeles-based singer/songwriter/guitarist Cole Gallagher announces his debut EP The Confluence, out August 4. Along with the announcement, the 21-year-old Gallagher shares the gritty first single “Lines In The Sky” featuring members of the 400 Unit and produced by Vance Powell (Chris Stapleton, Phish, Jack White). The song arrives with an accompanying music video that’s a modern-day take on the Bonnie & Clyde story, set against a seedy LA backdrop. Yesterday, “Lines In The Sky” was featured at Americana Highways who lauded the song as “wide and expansive” and said that the clip’s “illicit rags to riches story parallels the ebbs and flows of any relationship and dramatic misunderstandings.”

Stream “Lines In The Sky”

Watch the official “Lines In The Sky” video via YouTube

Pre-save The Confluence

Of the tracks on the EP, Gallagher shares: “They say that the only way to understand the world around you is by looking within. Every time I finish a song, I wonder if I could have said something differently. I think that makes it hard to understand the art I create, but it keeps me entertained. To me, making music is the purest form of therapy.”

Produced, engineered and mixed by seven-time GRAMMY winner Powell, The Confluence is a bracing six-song set that melds Southern rock, Americana and blues/roots with its lovingly detailed arrangements and Gallagher’s growling voice. One of the EP’s tracks, “Chatting Through Steel,” is the Tex-Mex duet with Los Lobos singer David Hidalgo that has already racked up over 200k views on YouTube.

The EP finds Gallagher joined by an impressive lineup featuring Jon Eldridge on keys and Jimbo Hart, Sadler Vaden and Chad Gamble (the 400 Unit) on bass, guitar and drums respectively. Other players include guitarist Barry Billings and drummer Tucker Flemings with a horn section consisting of Leif Shires, Josh Scalf, Tyler Summers and Simon Yeh. Tera Lynn Fister and Kierra Bronson provide background vocals.

Raised in Los Angeles County, Gallagher luxuriated in his father’s extensive CD collection chock full of classic rock from an early age, specifically crediting Bob Dylan, John Fogerty and Warren Zevon as inspirations. As a teenager, he took classes at the South Pasadena Music Center & Conservatory where he began to write his own songs and perform with a band for the first time. After a few years of regularly playing at local venue The Mixx, he headed for Nashville, performing original music at a slew of bars on Lower Broadway, a National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) after-jam and more. It was in Nashville where he met Eldridge, Hart and Vaden, thus paving the way for the origins of The Confluence.

The Confluence Tracklist
1. Lines In The Sky
2. Stumbling In The Dark
3. Delilah
4. Chatting Through Steel (feat. David Hidalgo)
5. Sugarland
6. The Ocarins of Tennessee