Corb Lund Shares Hayes Carll's "Highway 87" Today - "Songs My Friends Wrote" To Be Released April 29th

Article Contributed by New West Records | Published on Sunday, January 23, 2022

Corb Lund will release Songs My Friends Wrote across digital platforms on April 29th via New West Records. The 10-song set features Lund putting his spin on some of his favorite songs written by close friends and world-class songwriters such as Hayes Carll, Todd Snider, Canadian Country Music Legend Ian Tyson, and more. Songs My Friends Wrote is the follow up to 2020’s critically acclaimed Agricultural Tragic. It was Lund’s first studio album of original material in 5 years and earned him the 2021 CCMA (Canadian Country Music Association) Award for Alternative Country Album of the Year, his 13th career win. No Depression said “Corb Lund radiates authenticity from first note to last” and the album landed at #7 on their readers’ “50 Favorite Roots Music Albums of 2020” list. Vinyl and Compact Disc editions of Songs My Friends Wrote will be available on Friday, June 17th (please see physical edition details below).
“Songs My Friends Wrote is an album I’ve been threatening to make for years,” says Lund. “In most cases I’ve picked relatively obscure songs that have always spoken to me, even though many of them won’t be so familiar to people. The best part about recording all these tunes was that they reminded me of all the people who I haven’t been able to hang out with for the past two years because of the plague we’ve all been dealing with. All of these tunes bring a smile to my face and I hope they do the same for you.”
Today, Lund has released the album’s first single, “Highway 87,” which was written by Hayes Carll. Lund shares, “I’ve known Hayes forever. We met at a card game in Dauphin, Manitoba, many moons ago and we both lost all our money to my ex, Debbie. Hayes and I have toured together, written together, drank together and he’s one of my best friends in music. This song is one of his that’s older and not as widely known, but my guys and I have been playing it for years. I love it.”
Lund spoke at length about the album for a feature published by Holler today as well.
Share “Highway 87” HERE.

Lund had plans to embark on a completely sold-out cross-country Canadian tour that was set to begin later this week. With the ongoing global pandemic, the tour will be moved to April and May. 2022 will also see Lund’s debut at the historic Grand Ole Opry in Nashville, TN, a career highlight. Please see and Lund’s social media pages for additional updates.  
Corb Lund has received multiple CCMA, JUNO, and international award nominations and wins. A rural Albertan hailing from the foothills of the Rocky Mountains with a long family lineage of ranchers and rodeo people, Lund is about as authentic as they come. Embracing both his Western heritage and his indie rock past through his music, he has been known to filter a range of cowboy themes past and present through his unique lens - from rough-and-tumble tales of lawless frontier saloons to the somber realities of running a modern family ranch. Most recently, Lund has been actively leading protests against the Alberta provincial government's plan to allow open-pit coal mining on the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains.
Corb Lund’s Songs My Friends Wrote will be available across digital platforms on Friday, April 29th with physical editions following on June 17th.  A limited “Smoke Color” vinyl edition autographed by Corb Lund, as well as a limited edition autographed compact disc will be available at independent retailers and directly from NEW WEST RECORDS. Standard Black Vinyl and Standard Compact Discs will also be available.

Corb Lund Songs My Friends Wrote Track Listing:
1. Highway 87 (Hayes Carll)
2. That’s What Keeps the Rent Down, Baby (Geoff Berner)
3. Montana Waltz (Ian Tysoon)
4. Blue Wing (Tom Russell)
5. Pasa-Get-Down-Dena (John Evans)
6. Spookin’ the Horses (Fred Eaglesmith)
7. Little Rock (Hayes Carll)
8. Road To Las Cruces (Ian Tyson)
9. Big American Headliner (Mike Plume)
10. Age Like Wine (Todd Snider)