An Evening With Tab Benoit's Swampland Jam at Crystal Bay Club

Article Contributed by Doug Deutsch | Published on Sunday, September 19, 2021

Spend An Evening with Tab Benoit's Swampland Jam featuring Tab Benoit, Big Chief Monk Boudreaux, Johnny Sansone, and Waylon Thibodeaux, who perform locally at Crystal Bay Club Casino, 14 State Route 28, Sunday, September 26. Showtime: 8:00pm. Tickets: $35. Info: (775) 833-6333 or visit here.

Tab Benoit, one of music’s most enduring and masterful blues and roots performers - and an authority on Louisiana music and culture - leads an all star band featuring three giants of Louisiana Roots Music - Big Chief Monk Boudreaux, Johnny Sansone, and Waylon Thibodeaux.

Big Chief Monk Boudreaux (HBO's Treme) incorporates African Rhythms and Mardi Gras Chants into his own original style of Rhythm and Blues. Boudreaux is the Big Chief of the Golden Eagles, a legendary Mardi Gras Indian tribe. He is widely known for his long-time collaboration with Big Chief Bo Dollis in The Wild Magnolias. In 2016, Boudreaux received a National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellowship in Washington, DC.

Johnny Sansone goes deep into Bayou Blues and Zydeco with his roof shaking vocals, harmonica and accordion. Sansone has won numerous awards in the Crescent City, including multiple categories for Offbeat magazine's annual "Best of the Beat” competition.

Waylon Thibodeaux rounds out the Jam on vocals and fiddle. Born in Louisiana’s ‘Bayou Country’ just a few miles southwest of New Orleans, Houma native Waylon Thibodeaux has been dubbed “Louisiana’s Rockin Fiddler”. His rollicking, Cajun and zydeco rhythms never fail to serve up a good helping of spicy, high-energy Louisiana fun.

AN EVENING WITH TAB BENOIT's SWAMPLAND JAM ON TOUR

Sept 14 (Tues)      RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ

Sept 15 (Wed)       RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ

Sept 16 (Thur)      BELLY UP TAVERN                               Solana Beach CA

Sept 17 (Fri)          WORLD RECORDS                                Bakersfield CA

Sept 18 (Sat)         FULTON 55                                         Fresno CA

Sept 19 (Sun)        CENTER FOR THE ARTS                       Grass Valley CA

Sept 21 (Mon)       FREMONT THEATER                            SanLuisObispo CA

Sept 22 (Wed)       FELTON MUSIC HALL                           Felton CA

Sept 23 (Thur)       THE COVES                                        Union Hall, CA

Sept 24 (Fri)          CORNERSTONE                                   Berkeley CA

Sept 25 (Sat)          MYSTIC THEATER                              Petaluma CA

Sept. 26 (Sun.)      CRYSTAL BAY CLUB CASINO              Crystal Bay CA

Oct 8 (Fri)              THE FILLMORE                                   New Orleans LA

Oct 19 (Tues)        RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                       Annapolis MD

Oct 20 (Wed)         RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                       Annapolis MD

Oct 21 (Thur)        THE BIRCHMERE                                  Alexandria VA

Oct 22 (Fri)           ELEVATION 27                                    Virginia Bch VA

Oct 23 (Sat)          THE COVES                                          Union Hall VA

Oct 24 (Sun)         PARAMOUNT BRISTOL                          Bristol TN

Oct 26 (Tues)        SELLERSVILLE THEATER                       Sellersville PA

Oct 27 (Wed)         SELLERSVILLE THEATER                       Sellersville PA   

Oct 28 (Thur)        COHOES MUSIC HALL                          Cohoes PA

Oct 29 (Fri)           INFINITY MUSIC HALL                          Hartford CT

Oct 30 (Sat)          CENTER FOR THE ARTS                        Natick MA

Nov 2 (Tues)         CITY WINERY                                       Boston MA

Nov 3 (Wed)          BULL RUN                                           Shirley MA

Nov 4 (Thur)         SPIRE CENTER/PERFORMING ARTS       Plymouth MA

Nov 6 (Sat)            BEACON THEATER                              Hopewell VA

Nov 11 (Thur)        MARTIN'S                                           Jackson MS

Nov 12 (Fri)           SATURN                                             Birmingham AL

Nov 13 (Sat)          WALKER THEATER                              Chattanooga TN

Nov 14 (Sun)         TAFT THEATER                                   Cincinnati OH

Dec 9 (Thur)          RYMAN AUDITORIUM*                        Nashville TN

Jan 23 (Sun)           NEWBERRY OPERA HOUSE                   Newberry SC

Jan 28 (Fri)             CULTURE ROOM                                 Ft Lauderdale FL

Feb 4 (Fri)              PLAZA LIVE ORLANDO                        Orlando FL

Feb 5 (Sat)             CTR FOR THE ARTS OF BONITA SPRINGS     Bonita Springs FL

Feb 12 (Sat)           DIXIE CARTER PERFORMING ARTS CTR    Huntingdon TN

March 27 (Sun)       CENTER FOR THE ARTS OF HOMER     Homer NY

March 29 (Tues)     GATEWAY CITY ARTS                         Holyoke NY

                                       *with Samantha Fish

Topics