The Greyboy Allstars Share "December’s Bicycle" / Single & Video Out Today

Article Contributed by Calabro Music Media | Published on Friday, September 2, 2022

Today, The Greyboy Allstars share "December’s Bicycle" from the forthcoming reissue of their second studio album, A Town Called Earth, set for release September 16 via the band's own Knowledge Room Recordings in collaboration with Light In The Attic. The original album version of "December’s Bicycle" can be heard on all streaming platforms HERE, while a recent performance of the song—captured on video during the band's hometown show at the Belly Up in Solana Beach, just outside of San Diego, on November 27, 2021—is available HERE.

It didn't take 25 years for A Town Called Earth to become a classic. As soon as the terra firma-shaking second album by The Greyboy Allstars was released in the summer of 1997, it was clear to anyone with receptive ears that here was the future of—well, you name it: funk, boogaloo, soul, jazz, R&B, fusion. It's all mashed up and buoyed by a propulsive groove on this groundbreaking recording.

A quarter of a century later and A Town Called Earth is recognized as a bonafide game changer. It was recorded over a sprawling ten-day session at San Francisco’s Hyde Street Studios with engineer Mickey Petralia. It found the band moving beyond their influences to redefining funk for the coming millennium.

What better way to celebrate the landmark anniversary of a landmark album than to present its long overdue debut on digital streaming platforms and vinyl. A Town Called Earth features the original 1996 ten-track album supplemented by the previously unreleased "Cassiopeia's Chair," a tight yet breezy groover with a touch of the band’s skewed, cosmic sensibilities. The vinyl reissue, dubbed A Town Called Earth: Immortal Edition, was remastered from the original analog source tapes by Dave Cooley and Phillip Rodriguez at Elysian Masters, It was pressed on 180-gram audiophile, earth swirl color vinyl and packaged with an 18x24” color poster and features original liner notes by legendary funk trombonist Fred Wesley. Only 2000 copies of the double-LP set will be issued.

A Town Called Earth
Track Listing:

Side A
1. Turnip’s Big Move
2. Planet of the Superkids
3. Happy Friends

Side B
4. The Many Moods of Erik Newson
5. Quantico, VA
6. Toys R Us

Side C
7. A Town Called Earth
8. December’s Bicycle

Side D
9. Blues for Celia (Cee Cee’s Blues)
10. Sportscaster
11. Cassiopeia's Chair