Jack West Premieres Debut Album 'FOR THE RECORD'

Article Contributed by The Syndicate | Published on Monday, July 29, 2019

Fourteen-year-old Jack West just premiered his debut full-length album, For the Record, via The Big Takeover – listen here – set to release across all DSPs this Friday, August 2. For the Record is a collaboration between West and renowned Seattle producer Barrett Jones (Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Jawbox) at his famed Laundry Room Studio. 

For the Record proves that sometimes it takes youth to lead us to the next place, to revive rock ‘n’ roll by taking the old and putting a new spin on it. West compiled 18 tracks, laid down the piano, guitar, bass and drum tracks on Logic, from which he and Barrett Jones chose to make For the Record, a nod to both old-school vinyl records and Jack’s first official recordings made public. The songs on the album are about preparing to take flight, but at the same time, wary of plummeting to the ground. Lyrically, West approaches an array of topics that demonstrate a maturity well beyond his years, such as the threats of global warming, rising above the world’s chaos, support for war veterans and gun control, and more.

West recently debuted a video for LP track "Revival" – watch via YouTube – that examines the 're-writing' process and the obsession of trying to improve a song and make it the best it can be. Filmed in NYC, where people from all over the world come to reinvent themselves, the video begins in black and white and ends in color, illustrating the evolution to a finished song. 

West has previously performed with Eddie Vedder before 30,000 at a concert in Nashville, and he and his five-piece band just performed at BottleRock and A2IM's Indie Week in NYC before select East Coast dates, including an upcoming performance in Boston for The Who Cares Teen Cancer America Benefit.

Pre-save For The Record here.

Tour Dates:
Aug 02 - Fairport, NY @ B-Side (solo acoustic)
Sep 13 - Boston, MA @ The Who Cares Teen Cancer America Boston Benefit
Sep 22 - Naples, NY @ Naples Grape Festival

For The Record Track Listing:
01. Won't Look Back
02. Leave Us Behind
03. The Flower City
04. Revival
05. Look Out Below (How Long)
06. Into This Lifetime
07. What I Can Get
08. Unsinkable