Jazz re:freshed to release vinyl only live jazz album feat. UK rising stars Theon Cross + Camilla George and more, recorded at Abbey Road

Article Contributed by Big Feat PR | Published on Sunday, August 14, 2022

Today British Underground and Jazz re:freshed announced the release of “Outernational Live from Studio Two Abbey Road” a unique live LP featuring new stars of UK jazz recorded at the world-famous Abbey Road Studios during the winter lockdown of 2021. Tracks were originally laid-down for a covid-friendly filmed show hosted by the South by Southwest (SXSW) music festival in March of that year following a run of ground-breaking live showcases at the Austin event since 2017.

Featuring UK rising jazz stars Doom Cannon, Camilla George, Richard Spaven, Theon Cross, Noya Rao, Daniel Casimir and Tess Hirst, it will be released on Vinyl only on September 2 via Jazz re:freshed’s label. Previous acts from these internationally celebrated showcases include Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garci, Ezra Collective and Moses Boyd with this special-edition LP highlighting the best of the next wave.
The album is released on vinyl only - limited to 500 copies and can be bought from the jazz re:freshed band camp site and limited stores worldwide from September 2nd. To order a copy visit: https://jazzrefreshed.bandcamp.com/album/outernational-live-from-studio-two-abbey-road-vinyl-only

Theon Cross stated, "The JRF/BU Outernational showcase for SXSW filmed and recorded at Abbey Road in Feb 2021 was a very special one. It was one of the first times since the start of the pandemic that we were able to play together and make music for an audience despite them not being in the room. We really hit our stride with Panda Village a track from my album FYAH channeling all the joy and emotion of this cathartic moment."
Jazz Re:freshed also confirmed they will be returning to SXSW in 2023 for another landmark showcase, with further details to follow.
Track list:

    DoomCannon - This Too
    Camilla George - Ekpe
    Richard Spaven - Helsinki Trio
    Theon Cross - Panda Village
    Noya Rao - Red
    Daniel Casimir & Tess Hirst - These Days