Joe Jackson Releases New Album "What A Racket!"

Article Contributed by JP Cutler Media | Published on Friday, November 24, 2023

Today, celebrated musician and producer Joe Jackson releases his latest artistic endeavour 'What A Racket!' via earMUSIC. The album is a vibrant revival of long-lost artist Max Champion and transports listeners to the lively world of Music Hall tradition.

Fans, captivated by the enigmatic Max Champion, have been speculating and researching for weeks since the album's announcement. A newly released documentary now finally sheds light on the early 20th century artist from England.


'What A Racket!' presents eleven of Max Champion's songs for the first time in more than a century. According to producer Joe Jackson, "These were wonderful songs in their time, but they're surprisingly modern, too. Sometimes it's almost as if Max is speaking, from his London of the early 20th century, directly to us in the early 21st."

The album "Mr. Joe Jackson presents: Max Champion in 'What A Racket!'" is available in various formats, including CD-Digipak, 1LP Black Vinyl, Download, and Streaming.

Plans are also underway to present this project as a live show in 2024. More details soon!


Music Hall originated in 19th-century London, evolving from pubs and street performances to grand theatres by 1900. It attracted a diverse audience, from commoners to aristocrats, and portrayed life in the Victorian and Edwardian eras with humor, satire, sentimentality, patriotism, and occasional darker themes. Some songs were also risqué but cleverly expressed.

1. (Overture): Why, Why, Why?
2. The Sporting Life
3. Dear Old Mum -- A London-Irish Lament
4. Monty Mundy (Is Maltese)!
5. The Shades Of Night
6. What A Racket!
7. The Bishop And The Actress
8. Think Of The Show! -- A Thespian's Lament
9. Never So Nice In The Morning
10. Health & Safety
11. Worse Things Happen At Sea

Vinyl Split: Side A: Tracks 1-5 Side B: Tracks 6-11