Keb' Mo', Fantastic Negrito, Cedric Burnside and More To Release Benefit Compilation

Article Contributed by Vicious Kid PR | Published on Tuesday, December 8, 2020

On February 5th, independently owned record stores across the country will be selling a limited edition benefit compilation titled “A Benefit For Equality Vol. 1”. It celebrates black artistry in the blues genre with proceeds going to the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). This one-time pressing is limited to only 500 copies.

The vision of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.

“We are proud to be associated with the NAACP and the wonderful artists represented on A Benefit For Equality. This illustrates the intersection of artistic merit and social activism we all seek.” 

--Twist & Shout Records – Denver, CO

“I’m honored to be a part of this collection of great blues artists to support the NAACP. It’s a great cause and I’m grateful they’d have me! I’m also excited to partner with all the great independent record shops that’ll sell this thing— they’ve always had my back and I appreciate that so much.  Thank you!” 

– Cedric Burnside 

"I am truly honored to be asked to support the efforts of the NAACP. My life has been momentously changed by their efforts through the years. I am proud to have been asked and wish my grandmother was here to witness this. Thank you and I look forward to working with the NAACP and all the other great artists on this project."  - Sugaray Rayford

“Independent record stores allow all of our voices to be heard and to matter.” - Ruthie Foster

You can preorder at a record store near you HERE.

“A Benefit For Equality Vol. 1”

Jontavious Willis “The World Is In A Tangle

Magic Slim & The Teardrops “I’m A Bluesman”

Mud Morganfield “Who’s Fooling Who?”

Keb’ Mo’ “Somebody Hurt You”

Cedric Burnside “Hard To Stay Cool”

Sugaray Rayford “Dark Night Of The Soul”

Fantastic Negrito “The Nigga Song”

Ruthie Foster “Brand New Day”

T-Model Ford “Take A Ride With Me”

Ironing Board Sam “Super Spirit”